Home / New Zealand

The 10 best POS systems for New Zealand hospitality (2026)

POS systems sold to New Zealand cafes, bars and restaurants, ranked on what each one publishes about its monthly price, card fees and contract.

Prices checked from 12 Oct 2026 on each vendor's own website. How we score

Our pick

Restaurant point of sale and QR ordering from SmakSpace.

  • Plans from $49/mo
  • All plan prices published
  • No long-term commitment

Quick picks

Price comparison

#SystemScoreStarts atCard rateContract
1SmakSpace7.0From $49/moNot publishedNo long-term commitment
2Lazygrid4.5From $24/moNot publishedNot published
3Foodship4.0From $40/moNot publishedNot published
4Epos Now3.0From $78/moNot publishedNot published
5Next Order3.0From $169/mo, billed yearlyNot published12 months, renews automatically
6Sipo1.0Not publishedNot published30 days notice, renews automatically
7Eats3650.0Not publishedNot publishedNot published
8OrderMate0.0Not publishedNot publishedNot published
9QJumper0.0Not publishedNot publishedNot published
10Tabin0.0Not publishedNot publishedNot published

Prices exclude GST where the vendor says so. “Not published” means the vendor's own page did not state it when we read it; the sources at the foot of the page name each page and date.

What it would cost you

Put in your own orders: each system is priced on the plan and card rate it publishes, cheapest first.

$30,000 a month through the system. Example figures: change them to yours, priced on the 10 best POS systems for New Zealand hospitality. 0 of 10 publish enough to give a full total.

SystemPlan chargedFees chargedYour monthYour yearOf salesVendor site
Lazygrid
Working
Lite, $24/moCard rate not published$24 + card fees not publishedRead moreVisit
Foodship
Working
Point of Sale Software, $40/moCard rate not published$40 + card fees not publishedRead moreVisit
SmakSpace
Working
Starter (monthly billing), $49/moCard rate not published$49 + card fees not publishedRead moreVisit
Epos Now
Working
Payments, care and support subscription (Complete Solution bundle), $78/moCard rate not published$78 + card fees not publishedRead moreVisit
Next Order
Working
Annual, $169/mo, billed yearlyCard rate not published$169 + card fees not publishedRead moreVisit
Eats365Not publishedCard rate not publishedNot publishedRead moreVisit
OrderMateNot publishedCard rate not publishedNot publishedRead moreVisit
QJumperNot publishedCard rate not publishedNot publishedRead moreVisit
SipoNot publishedCard rate not publishedNot publishedRead moreVisit
TabinNot publishedCard rate not publishedNot publishedRead moreVisit

A month is the cheapest published plan plus the published card rate on your orders. A plan priced per device or per site is multiplied by the boxes above; a plan with no unit stated is counted once per site. Hardware, GST where a price excludes it and any charge a vendor does not publish are left out.

Price every kind of system in the New Zealand cost calculator

The ranking

  1. 1

    Restaurant point of sale and QR ordering from SmakSpace.

    7.0/10
    • Plans from $49/mo
    • All plan prices published
    • No long-term commitment
    • Card rate not published

    Why 7.0

    • Prices published2/2All plan prices published
    • Entry price2/3From $49/mo
    • Fees0/2Card rate not published
    • Contract3/3No long-term commitment
  2. 2

    Point of sale, kiosk and online ordering from Lazygrid.

    4.5/10
    • Plans from $24/mo
    • All plan prices published
    • Card rate not published
    • Contract terms not published

    Why 4.5

    • Prices published2/2All plan prices published
    • Entry price2.5/3From $24/mo
    • Fees0/2Card rate not published
    • Contract0/3Not published
  3. 3

    Point of sale and online ordering from Foodship.

    4.0/10
    • Plans from $40/mo
    • All plan prices published
    • Card rate not published
    • Contract terms not published

    Why 4.0

    • Prices published2/2All plan prices published
    • Entry price2/3From $40/mo
    • Fees0/2Card rate not published
    • Contract0/3Not published
  4. 4

    EPOS supplier selling till software with hardware.

    3.0/10
    • Plans from $78/mo
    • Not every price is published
    • Card rate not published
    • Contract terms not published

    Why 3.0

    • Prices published1/2Some prices published
    • Entry price2/3From $78/mo
    • Fees0/2Card rate not published
    • Contract0/3Not published
  5. 5

    Point of sale, online ordering and loyalty from Next Order.

    3.0/10
    • Plans from $169/mo, billed yearly
    • Not every price is published
    • Card rate not published
    • Contract: 12 months, renews automatically

    Why 3.0

    • Prices published1/2Some prices published
    • Entry price0.5/3From $169/mo, billed yearly
    • Fees0/2Card rate not published
    • Contract1.5/312 months, renews automatically
  6. 6

    Cloud point of sale, kiosk and ordering from Sipo.

    1.0/10
    • Contract: 30 days notice, renews automatically
    • Price on request only
    • Card rate not published

    Why 1.0

    • Prices published0/2Price on request only
    • Entry price0/3No plan price published
    • Fees0/2Card rate not published
    • Contract1/330 days notice, renews automatically
  7. 7

    Restaurant point of sale from Eats365.

    0.0/10
    • Price on request only
    • Card rate not published
    • Contract terms not published

    Why 0.0

    • Prices published0/2Price on request only
    • Entry price0/3No plan price published
    • Fees0/2Card rate not published
    • Contract0/3Not published
  8. 8

    Hospitality point of sale from OrderMate.

    0.0/10
    • Price on request only
    • Card rate not published
    • Contract terms not published

    Why 0.0

    • Prices published0/2Price on request only
    • Entry price0/3No plan price published
    • Fees0/2Card rate not published
    • Contract0/3Not published
  9. 9

    Point of sale, kiosks and ordering from QJumper.

    0.0/10
    • Price on request only
    • Card rate not published
    • Contract terms not published

    Why 0.0

    • Prices published0/2Price on request only
    • Entry price0/3No plan price published
    • Fees0/2Card rate not published
    • Contract0/3Not published
  10. 10

    Point of sale, QR ordering and kiosks from Tabin.

    0.0/10
    • Price on request only
    • Card rate not published
    • Contract terms not published

    Why 0.0

    • Prices published0/2Price on request only
    • Entry price0/3No plan price published
    • Fees0/2Card rate not published
    • Contract0/3Not published

Questions owners ask

How much does a POS system cost in New Zealand?

Of the 10 systems ranked here, 5 publish a plan price on their own website. The cheapest paid plan is Lazygrid, from $24/mo; the highest starting price is Next Order, from $169/mo, billed yearly. Sipo, Eats365, OrderMate, QJumper and Tabin give a price only on request. Card fees are charged on top of the plan price; the next answer covers them.

What card fees will I pay?

SmakSpace, Lazygrid, Foodship, Epos Now, Next Order, Sipo, Eats365, OrderMate, QJumper and Tabin do not publish a card rate, so you only learn it from a quote.

Will I be tied into a long contract?

SmakSpace let you leave at any time or month to month. Sipo (30 days notice, renews automatically) asks for notice or sets the term in its quote. Next Order (12 months, renews automatically) ties you in for a fixed term. Lazygrid, Foodship, Epos Now, Eats365, OrderMate, QJumper and Tabin do not publish its contract terms.

Which is the best POS system in New Zealand?

On our score, SmakSpace ranks first with 7.0 out of 10: plans from $49/mo, all plan prices published, no long-term commitment. The score covers published price, fees and contract terms, not features or support, so check the features you need on the vendor's own site.

Is there a POS system with no monthly fee?

None of these publishes a free plan. The cheapest published plan is Lazygrid, from $24/mo.

Which POS system has the lowest card rate?

None of these publishes an in-person card rate.

What do they charge on card payments taken online?

SmakSpace, Lazygrid, Foodship, Epos Now, Next Order, Sipo, Eats365, OrderMate, QJumper and Tabin do not publish a separate rate for online payments.

Which POS systems publish their prices?

SmakSpace, Lazygrid and Foodship publish all their plan prices. Epos Now and Next Order publish some prices and quote the rest. Sipo, Eats365, OrderMate, QJumper and Tabin give prices only on request.

Do I have to buy hardware?

Next Order: initial order tablet loaned free of charge by the Regional Partner for the duration of the Subscription Term; further hardware bought from the Regional Partner. Sipo: hardware is sold outright, under a finance arrangement, or in some cases supplied as part of a bundled subscription; the order form specifies which. Tabin: devices supplied for the Tabin Kiosk app remain the property of Tabin and/or its affiliates and must be returned on termination of the Agreement or after an extended absence from the app. The others do not publish a hardware price.

What does it cost to leave early?

SmakSpace has no fixed term, so there is no early exit fee to pay. Next Order: early Termination Fee: all unpaid non-recurring Charges, all recurring Charges for the rest of the Current Term, and the difference between list price and any discounted price received. Sipo: early termination during a fixed-term period may incur the remaining committed fees, as set out in the order form. Lazygrid, Foodship, Epos Now, Eats365, OrderMate, QJumper and Tabin do not publish an early exit fee.

Do the contracts renew automatically?

Next Order and Sipo renew automatically at the end of the term unless you give notice. We did not find a renewal term for Lazygrid, Foodship, Epos Now, Eats365, OrderMate, QJumper and Tabin.

Who owns my customer data?

SmakSpace: venue retains ownership of content it uploads (menus, images, customer data); licenses SmakSpace to use, store and process it as necessary to provide the Service. Next Order: restaurant retains all rights in its data and licenses Next Order to host and process it only as needed to provide, secure and improve the services and produce aggregated analytics. Sipo: venue owns the data it or its staff enter (menu content, product catalogues, customer records, order history, transaction data); Sipo gets limited rights to host, process, back up and serve it. We did not find a data ownership term for Lazygrid, Foodship, Epos Now, Eats365, OrderMate, QJumper and Tabin.

Which POS systems connect to other systems?

SmakSpace lists 3 POS systems and 6 payment providers. Epos Now lists 3 POS systems. Next Order lists 3 delivery apps. The others do not publish an integration list on the pages we read.

How did you rank them?

Every system gets a score out of 10 from four lines: prices published (2 points), entry price (3), fees (2, here the in-person card rate) and contract (3). The figures come only from each vendor's own website, read and dated, and the weights were fixed before any system was scored. Ties go to the system that publishes more of its prices.

How up to date are these prices?

The figures on this page were read from the vendors' own websites between 12 Oct 2026 and 12 Oct 2026. Each one shows its date when you hover it, and the sources at the foot of the page list every page and date.

What to check before you sign

  1. The in-person card rate and the online card rate are often different; check both if you take orders online.
  2. Find out who owns the hardware. If it is leased or bundled into the plan, you may have to return it or keep paying when you leave.
  3. Check whether the contract renews by itself and how much notice it needs.
  4. Ask whether you can export your sales and customer data if you switch.
Where every figure on this page comes from

SmakSpace

  • Starter (monthly billing) plan. “then upgrade to take orders from NZ$49/mo, commission-free.” smakspace.co.nz/features/ordering, read 12 Oct 2026
  • Commission on orders. “Flat monthly subscription, zero commission on direct orders.” smakspace.co.nz/pricing, read 12 Oct 2026
  • Contract, as the pricing page states it. “All plans are month-to-month with no long-term commitments.” smakspace.co.nz/pricing, read 12 Oct 2026
  • Notice period, from the terms. “You may cancel your subscription at any time through your account settings. Cancellation will take effect at the end of your current billing period.” smakspace.co.nz/terms, read 12 Oct 2026
  • Who owns your data, from the terms. “You retain ownership of all content you upload to the Service (menus, images, customer data, etc.). By uploading content, you grant us a license to use, store, and process that content as necessary to provide the Service.” smakspace.co.nz/terms, read 12 Oct 2026
  • Your data, from the terms. “You retain ownership of all content you upload to the Service (menus, images, customer data, etc.). By uploading content, you grant us a license to use, store, and process that content as necessary to provide the Service.” smakspace.co.nz/terms, read 12 Oct 2026
  • Free plan. “Prices in NZD · Free forever plan · Card-free 14-day trial on paid plans” smakspace.co.nz/pricing, read 12 Oct 2026
  • POS systems it connects to. “Two-way POS integration on the Enterprise plan: menu import from your POS, direct orders pushed into it, stock levels kept in step. Square and Toast today; Lightspeed in beta.” smakspace.co.nz/works-with-your-pos-nz, read 12 Oct 2026
  • Payment providers. “Online orders are paid through your own Stripe, Windcave or PayPal account. ... Your in-store terminal (Smartpay, Worldline, Verifone, Windcave) keeps processing cards exactly as it does today” smakspace.co.nz/works-with-your-pos-nz, read 12 Oct 2026
  • Card rate: not published. Not stated on smakspace.co.nz/pricing when read on 12 Oct 2026.

Lazygrid

  • Lite plan. “Lazygrid is NZ$24 per month for Lite, NZ$59 per month for Standard and NZ$149 per month for Premium. All prices are in New Zealand dollars and exclude GST. Hardware, EFTPOS equipment and payment processing may be charged separately.” lazygrid.digital/pricing/, read 12 Oct 2026
  • Standard plan. “Lazygrid is NZ$24 per month for Lite, NZ$59 per month for Standard and NZ$149 per month for Premium. All prices are in New Zealand dollars and exclude GST. Hardware, EFTPOS equipment and payment processing may be charged separately.” lazygrid.digital/pricing/, read 12 Oct 2026
  • Premium plan. “Lazygrid is NZ$24 per month for Lite, NZ$59 per month for Standard and NZ$149 per month for Premium. All prices are in New Zealand dollars and exclude GST. Hardware, EFTPOS equipment and payment processing may be charged separately.” lazygrid.digital/pricing/, read 12 Oct 2026
  • Card rate, commission on orders: not published. Not stated on lazygrid.digital/pricing/ when read on 12 Oct 2026.
  • Contract terms: not published. Not stated on lazygrid.digital/legal/tos/ when read on 12 Oct 2026.

Foodship

Epos Now

  • Payments, care and support subscription (Complete Solution bundle) plan. “Discounted price for the Complete Solution bundle requires the upfront cost and a 12-month payments, care and support subscription starting at NZD $78 per month.” eposnow.com/nz/store/software/, read 12 Oct 2026
  • POS systems it connects to. “Xero** \\ Automatically transfer financial data from your Epos Now Back Office to Xero so you can collate all of your business's financial data in one place. ... Loyalzoo** \\ Stay connected and get more from your customers. Turn shoppers into creatures of habit by digitising your business’ rewards program. ... LoyaltyDog** \\ The ultimate digital marketing loyalty program to power your business growth.” eposnow.com/nz/store/software/apps/, read 12 Oct 2026
  • Card rate, commission on orders: not published. Not stated on eposnow.com/nz/store/software/ when read on 12 Oct 2026.
  • Contract terms: not published. Not stated on eposnow.com/nz/contact-us/about/terms-trading/ when read on 12 Oct 2026.

Next Order

  • Annual plan. “## Annual The same platform as monthly, billed yearly. The cheapest way to run Next Order. $169/mo Billed annually.” nextorder.com/en-nz/pricing, read 12 Oct 2026
  • Month-to-month plan. “## Month-to-month The same all-in-one platform, billed month to month. Stay flexible and cancel any time. $209/mo Billed monthly. No lock-in.” nextorder.com/en-nz/pricing, read 12 Oct 2026
  • Commission on orders. “No commission on direct orders” nextorder.com/en-nz/pricing, read 12 Oct 2026
  • Automatic renewal. “Unless otherwise stated, each subscription automatically renews for successive periods equal to the then-expiring term at Next Order’s then-current pricing.” nextorder.com/en-nz/legal/subscription-agreement, read 12 Oct 2026
  • Contract length. “Unless the Order Form states otherwise, the initial Subscription Term is twelve months.” nextorder.com/en-nz/legal/subscription-agreement, read 12 Oct 2026
  • Early exit fee. “Restaurant shall pay an early termination fee equal to the sum of: (i) all non-recurring Charges that remain unpaid as at the effective date of termination; (ii) all recurring Charges that would otherwise have become due for the remainder of the Current Term; and (iii) the difference between the list price and any discounted price of the Services or Software received by Restaurant during or in respect of the Current Term (collectively, the “Early Termination Fee”).” nextorder.com/en-nz/legal/subscription-agreement, read 12 Oct 2026
  • Notice period, from the terms. “4.2 Non-Renewal.Either party may elect not to renew a subscription by giving written notice at least ninety days before the end of the then-current Subscription Term.” nextorder.com/en-nz/legal/subscription-agreement, read 12 Oct 2026
  • Leaving early, from the terms. “Restaurant shall pay an early termination fee equal to the sum of: (i) all non-recurring Charges that remain unpaid as at the effective date of termination; (ii) all recurring Charges that would otherwise have become due for the remainder of the Current Term; and (iii) the difference between the list price and any discounted price of the Services or Software received by Restaurant during or in respect of the Current Term (collectively, the “Early Termination Fee”).” nextorder.com/en-nz/legal/subscription-agreement, read 12 Oct 2026
  • Who owns your data, from the terms. “Restaurant retains all right, title, and interest in and to Restaurant Data and grants Next Order a limited license to host, copy, transmit, display, and process that data solely as necessary to provide, secure, and improve the Services and to produce aggregated analytics.” nextorder.com/en-nz/legal/subscription-agreement, read 12 Oct 2026
  • Your data, from the terms. “Restaurant retains all right, title, and interest in and to Restaurant Data and grants Next Order a limited license to host, copy, transmit, display, and process that data solely as necessary to provide, secure, and improve the Services and to produce aggregated analytics.” nextorder.com/en-nz/legal/subscription-agreement, read 12 Oct 2026
  • Hardware terms. “The initial order tablet is provided to Restaurant by the applicable Regional Partner free of charge on a loan basis for the duration of the Subscription Term.” nextorder.com/en-nz/legal/subscription-agreement, read 12 Oct 2026
  • Delivery apps. “Uber Eats, DoorDash and Delivereasy and your branded site land in the same queue as your walk-ins.” nextorder.com/en-nz/products/integrations, read 12 Oct 2026
  • Card rate: not published. Not stated on nextorder.com/en-nz/pricing when read on 12 Oct 2026.

Sipo

  • Automatic renewal. “After the initial term, the agreement continues on a rolling basis on the same billing cycle until terminated.” sipocloudpos.com/terms.html, read 12 Oct 2026
  • Notice period, from the terms. “After any initial term, you may terminate your subscription by giving us written notice as set out in your order form (typically 30 days).” sipocloudpos.com/terms.html, read 12 Oct 2026
  • Early exit fee. “Early termination during a fixed-term period may incur the remaining committed fees, as set out in your order form.” sipocloudpos.com/terms.html, read 12 Oct 2026
  • Leaving early, from the terms. “After any initial term, you may terminate your subscription by giving us written notice as set out in your order form (typically 30 days). Early termination during a fixed-term period may incur the remaining committed fees, as set out in your order form.” sipocloudpos.com/terms.html, read 12 Oct 2026
  • Who owns your data, from the terms. “You own your data. ... You grant us the limited rights needed to host, process, back up and serve that data as part of delivering the Services.” sipocloudpos.com/terms.html, read 12 Oct 2026
  • Your data, from the terms. “On request made within 30 days after termination, we will make a reasonable export of your data available to you (for example, a CSV or database dump of your menu, customer and transaction records).” sipocloudpos.com/terms.html, read 12 Oct 2026
  • Hardware terms. “Hardware is sold either outright, under a finance arrangement, or (in some cases) supplied as part of a bundled subscription” sipocloudpos.com/terms.html, read 12 Oct 2026
  • Plan prices, card rate, commission on orders: not published. Not stated on sipocloudpos.com/ when read on 12 Oct 2026.

Eats365

  • Plan prices, card rate, commission on orders, contract terms: not published. Not stated on eats365pos.com/nz when read on 12 Oct 2026.

OrderMate

QJumper

Tabin

  • Your data, from the terms. “Account termination may result in destruction of any Data associated with your account, so keep that in mind before you decide to terminate your account. We will try to provide advance notice to you prior to our terminating your account so that you are able to retrieve any important information you may have stored in your account (to the extent allowed by law and these Terms), but we may not do so if we determine it would be impractical, illegal, not in the interest of someone’s safety or security, or otherwise harmful to the rights or property of Tabin.” tabin.co.nz/legal/terms, read 12 Oct 2026
  • Hardware terms. “Devices(s) will at all times remain the property of Tabin and/or its affiliates, and upon expiration or termination of the Agreement, or the extended absence of all of Merchant’s/your location(s) from the Tabin App for longer than forty-five (45) days, Merchant/you will return all applicable Device(s) to Tabin within ten (10) days.” tabin.co.nz/legal/terms, read 12 Oct 2026
  • Plan prices, card rate, commission on orders: not published. Not stated on tabin.co.nz/ when read on 12 Oct 2026.
  • Contract terms: not published. Not stated on tabin.co.nz/legal/terms when read on 12 Oct 2026.