Home / Ireland

The 10 best EPOS systems for Irish restaurants (2026)

EPOS and till systems sold to cafes, pubs and restaurants in Ireland, ranked on what each one publishes about its monthly price, card fees and contract.

Prices checked from 9 Oct 2026 on each vendor's own website. How we score

Our pick

Free point of sale app and card readers from Square.

  • No monthly fee
  • All plan prices published
  • Card rate 1.75%
  • Cancel anytime

Quick picks

Price comparison

#SystemScoreStarts atCard rateContract
1Square9.5No monthly fee1.75%Cancel anytime
2Postree7.0From €49 per location a monthNot publishedNo long-term contract
3SumUp POS6.5No monthly fee1.69%Not published
4Flipdish3.5From €119/mo, billed yearlyNot published12 months, renews automatically
5Toast3.0From €90/moNot published30 days notice, renews automatically
6Epos Now2.5Not published1.7%Not published
7Revolut2.0Not publishedNot publishedNot published
8FirstChoice ePOS1.5Not publishedNot published18 months
9ithPOS1.0Not publishedNot publishedNot published
10Foodhub for Business1.0Not publishedNot published4 months, renews automatically

Prices exclude VAT where the vendor says so. “Not published” means the vendor's own page did not state it when we read it; the sources at the foot of the page name each page and date.

What it would cost you

Put in your own orders: each system is priced on the plan and card rate it publishes, cheapest first.

€30,000 a month through the system. Example figures: change them to yours, priced on the 10 best EPOS systems for Irish restaurants. 2 of 10 publish enough to give a full total.

SystemPlan chargedFees chargedYour monthYour yearOf salesVendor site
SumUp POS
Working
  • Plan: €0 x 1 site = €0
  • Card fees: 1.69% of €30,000 = €507
Pay-as-you-go, free1.69%€507€6,0841.7%Read moreVisit
Square
Working
  • Plan: €0 x 1 site = €0
  • Card fees: 1.75% of €30,000 = €525
Free1.75%€525€6,3001.8%Read moreVisit
Postree
Working
Starter, €49 per location a monthCard rate not published€49 + card fees not publishedRead moreVisit
Toast
Working
Starter, €90/moCard rate not published€90 + card fees not publishedRead moreVisit
Flipdish
Working
Essential Package: Point of Sale & Online Ordering, €119/mo, billed yearlyCard rate not published€119 + card fees not publishedRead moreVisit
Epos Now
Working
Not published1.7%€510 + plan price not publishedRead moreVisit
FirstChoice ePOSNot publishedCard rate not publishedNot publishedRead moreVisit
Foodhub for BusinessNot publishedCard rate not publishedNot publishedRead moreVisit
ithPOSNot publishedCard rate not publishedNot publishedRead moreVisit
RevolutNot publishedCard rate not publishedNot publishedRead moreVisit

A month is the cheapest published plan plus the published card rate on your orders. A plan priced per device or per site is multiplied by the boxes above; a plan with no unit stated is counted once per site. Hardware, VAT where a price excludes it and any charge a vendor does not publish are left out.

Price every kind of system in the Ireland cost calculator

The ranking

  1. 1

    Free point of sale app and card readers from Square.

    9.5/10
    • No monthly fee
    • All plan prices published
    • Card rate 1.75%
    • Cancel anytime

    Why 9.5

    • Prices published2/2All plan prices published
    • Entry price3/3No monthly fee
    • Fees1.5/2Card rate 1.75%
    • Contract3/3Cancel anytime
  2. 2

    Point of sale and ordering for hospitality from Postree.

    7.0/10
    • Plans from €49 per location a month
    • All plan prices published
    • No long-term contract
    • Card rate not published

    Why 7.0

    • Prices published2/2All plan prices published
    • Entry price2/3From €49 per location a month
    • Fees0/2Card rate not published
    • Contract3/3No long-term contract
  3. 3

    Card readers and a till app from SumUp.

    6.5/10
    • No monthly fee
    • All plan prices published
    • Card rate 1.69%
    • Contract terms not published

    Why 6.5

    • Prices published2/2All plan prices published
    • Entry price3/3No monthly fee
    • Fees1.5/2Card rate 1.69%
    • Contract0/3Not published
  4. 4

    Online ordering and point of sale from Flipdish.

    3.5/10
    • Plans from €119/mo, billed yearly
    • Not every price is published
    • Card rate not published
    • Contract: 12 months, renews automatically

    Why 3.5

    • Prices published1/2Some prices published
    • Entry price1/3From €119/mo, billed yearly
    • Fees0/2Card rate not published
    • Contract1.5/312 months, renews automatically
  5. 5

    Restaurant point of sale from Toast.

    3.0/10
    • Plans from €90/mo
    • Contract: 30 days notice, renews automatically
    • Not every price is published
    • Card rate not published

    Why 3.0

    • Prices published1/2Some prices published
    • Entry price1/3From €90/mo
    • Fees0/2Card rate not published
    • Contract1/330 days notice, renews automatically
  6. 6

    EPOS supplier selling till software with hardware.

    2.5/10
    • Card rate 1.7%
    • Not every price is published
    • Contract terms not published

    Why 2.5

    • Prices published1/2Some prices published
    • Entry price0/3No plan price published
    • Fees1.5/2Card rate 1.7%
    • Contract0/3Not published
  7. 7

    Point of sale app and card readers from Revolut Business.

    2.0/10
    • All plan prices published
    • Card rate not published
    • Contract terms not published

    Why 2.0

    • Prices published2/2All plan prices published
    • Entry price0/3No plan price published
    • Fees0/2Card rate not published
    • Contract0/3Not published
  8. 8

    Hospitality EPOS from FirstChoice ePOS.

    1.5/10
    • Price on request only
    • Card rate not published
    • Contract: 18 months

    Why 1.5

    • Prices published0/2Price on request only
    • Entry price0/3No plan price published
    • Fees0/2Card rate not published
    • Contract1.5/318 months
  9. 9

    Hospitality EPOS from ithPOS.

    1.0/10
    • Not every price is published
    • Card rate not published
    • Contract terms not published

    Why 1.0

    • Prices published1/2Some prices published
    • Entry price0/3No plan price published
    • Fees0/2Card rate not published
    • Contract0/3Not published
  10. 10

    Online ordering and EPOS from Foodhub for Business.

    1.0/10
    • Contract: 4 months, renews automatically
    • Price on request only
    • Card rate not published

    Why 1.0

    • Prices published0/2Price on request only
    • Entry price0/3No plan price published
    • Fees0/2Card rate not published
    • Contract1/34 months, renews automatically

Questions owners ask

How much does an EPOS system cost in Ireland?

Of the 10 systems ranked here, 5 publish a plan price on their own website. Square and SumUp POS have a plan with no monthly fee. The cheapest paid plan is Postree, from €49 per location a month; the highest starting price is Flipdish, from €119/mo, billed yearly. Epos Now, Revolut, FirstChoice ePOS, ithPOS and Foodhub for Business give a price only on request. Card fees are charged on top of the plan price; the next answer covers them.

What card fees will I pay?

Published in-person card rates run from 1.69% (SumUp POS) to 1.75% (Square). Postree, Flipdish, Toast, Revolut, FirstChoice ePOS, ithPOS and Foodhub for Business do not publish a card rate, so you only learn it from a quote.

Will I be tied into a long contract?

Square and Postree let you leave at any time or month to month. Toast (30 days notice, renews automatically) and Foodhub for Business (4 months, renews automatically) ask for notice or set the term in your quote. Flipdish (12 months, renews automatically) and FirstChoice ePOS (18 months) tie you in for a fixed term. SumUp POS, Epos Now, Revolut and ithPOS do not publish its contract terms.

Which is the best EPOS system in Ireland?

On our score, Square ranks first with 9.5 out of 10: no monthly fee, all plan prices published, card rate 1.75%, cancel anytime. The score covers published price, fees and contract terms, not features or support, so check the features you need on the vendor's own site.

Is there an EPOS system with no monthly fee?

Square and SumUp POS have a plan with no monthly fee. You pay a fee on each card payment instead.

Which EPOS system has the lowest card rate?

SumUp POS, at 1.69% for an in-person card payment. A lower rate matters more as takings grow: on the same sales, every tenth of a percent is money kept.

What do they charge on card payments taken online?

Published online card rates: Square 1.4% + 25c; SumUp POS 1.69%. Postree, Flipdish, Toast, Epos Now, Revolut, FirstChoice ePOS, ithPOS and Foodhub for Business do not publish a separate rate for online payments.

Which EPOS systems publish their prices?

Square, Postree, SumUp POS and Revolut publish all their plan prices. Flipdish, Toast, Epos Now and ithPOS publish some prices and quote the rest. FirstChoice ePOS and Foodhub for Business give prices only on request.

Do I have to buy hardware?

Published hardware prices: Square from €19. Flipdish: flipdish may provide a terminal for the duration of the Services as part of set-up fees, keeps legal ownership of it and may require its return on termination. Foodhub for Business: rental; the equipment remains the property of the Company. The others do not publish a hardware price.

What does it cost to leave early?

Square and Postree have no fixed term, so there is no early exit fee to pay. Flipdish: termination compensation equal to the monthly average of the previous 6 months' fees multiplied by the number of months remaining in the Term. Toast: the remaining Software Subscription Fees for the remainder of the term, plus any processing fee related to Software financing. FirstChoice ePOS: remainder of the monthly payments in the initial 18 months consolidated and paid in full. Foodhub for Business: the whole of the Rental Payments that would have been payable to the end of the Rental Period. SumUp POS, Epos Now, Revolut and ithPOS do not publish an early exit fee.

Do the contracts renew automatically?

Flipdish, Toast and Foodhub for Business renew automatically at the end of the term unless you give notice. We did not find a renewal term for SumUp POS, Epos Now, Revolut, FirstChoice ePOS and ithPOS.

Who owns my customer data?

Square: merchant's customers' and employees' personal information is processed by Square on the merchant's behalf as a service provider (data processor). Flipdish: merchant retains ownership of all content and data it provides to Flipdish. We did not find a data ownership term for Postree, SumUp POS, Toast, Epos Now, Revolut, FirstChoice ePOS, ithPOS and Foodhub for Business.

Which EPOS systems connect to other systems?

The others do not publish an integration list on the pages we read.

How did you rank them?

Every system gets a score out of 10 from four lines: prices published (2 points), entry price (3), fees (2, here the in-person card rate) and contract (3). The figures come only from each vendor's own website, read and dated, and the weights were fixed before any system was scored. Ties go to the system that publishes more of its prices.

How up to date are these prices?

The figures on this page were read from the vendors' own websites between 9 Oct 2026 and 12 Oct 2026. Each one shows its date when you hover it, and the sources at the foot of the page list every page and date.

What to check before you sign

  1. The in-person card rate and the online card rate are often different; check both if you take orders online.
  2. Find out who owns the hardware. If it is leased or bundled into the plan, you may have to return it or keep paying when you leave.
  3. Check whether the contract renews by itself and how much notice it needs.
  4. Ask whether you can export your sales and customer data if you switch.
Where every figure on this page comes from

Square

  • Free plan. “Start free or upgrade to €69/mo per location with unlimited devices” squareup.com/ie/en/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Square for Restaurants (paid) plan. “Start free or upgrade to €69/mo per location with unlimited devices” squareup.com/ie/en/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
  • In-person card rate. “1.75% + VAT per transaction with EU + EEA cards” squareup.com/ie/en/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Online card rate. “Online payments Processing rates ### 1.4% + 25c + VAT” squareup.com/ie/en/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Fixed fee per online payment. “Online payments Processing rates ### 1.4% + 25c + VAT” squareup.com/ie/en/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Cancelling, from the terms. “You may terminate these General Terms or any Additional Terms at any time from your Square Account Settings.” squareup.com/ie/en/legal/general/ua, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Cheapest hardware. “~~€19~~ €13.30 + VAT 30% off ![](https://images.ctfassets.net/2d5q1td6cyxq/5drYUY2qc1quzHyF2i0mHs/f843e3e8529e9e9829c033c5fc6f11c4/PD03940_-_IEEN_terminal_tile.png?w=4000&fm=jpg&q=85&bg=rgb%3Af2f2f2&fit=fill&fl=progressive) [Square Terminal](https://squareup.com/shop/hardware/ie/en/products/terminal-credit-card-machine-ie) €169 + VAT ![](https://images.ctfassets.net/2d5q1td6cyxq/5OUsM3xe3LmP788im5pXWu/5ae4613f007fa5ecc6273d0b98c905aa/PD03136_-_IEEN_Handheld.png?w=1000&fm=jpg&q=85&bg=rgb%3Af2f2f2&fit=fill&fl=progressive) [Square Handheld](https://squareup.com/ie/en/hardware/handheld) €199 + VAT” squareup.com/ie/en/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Notice period, from the terms. “You may terminate these General Terms or any Additional Terms at any time from your Square Account Settings.” squareup.com/ie/en/legal/general/ua, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Leaving early, from the terms. “You may terminate these General Terms or any Additional Terms at any time from your Square Account Settings. If you terminate these General Terms, you will be deemed to have terminated the Payment Terms on the same day.” squareup.com/ie/en/legal/general/ua, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Who owns your data, from the terms. “Square will process certain of your customers’ or employees’ personal information on behalf of your business as a service provider (‘data processor’).” squareup.com/ie/en/legal/general/ua, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Your data, from the terms. “Square will process certain of your customers’ or employees’ personal information on behalf of your business as a service provider (‘data processor’).” squareup.com/ie/en/legal/general/ua, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Commission on orders: not published. Not stated on squareup.com/ie/en/pricing when read on 9 Oct 2026.

Postree

  • Starter plan. “€49/mo per location ... 1 POS terminal included (hardware and software licence)” postree.ie/pricing/, read 12 Oct 2026
  • Growth plan. “€49/mo first location, then +€25/mo per additional location” postree.ie/pricing/, read 12 Oct 2026
  • Commission on orders. “5% flat commission per order” postree.ie/pricing/, read 12 Oct 2026
  • Contract, as the pricing page states it. “No hidden fees. No long-term contracts.” postree.ie/pricing/, read 12 Oct 2026
  • Notice period, from the terms. “You may cancel your Postree subscription at any time by contacting our support team or through your account dashboard. Cancellations take effect at the end of your current billing period.” postree.ie/terms-of-service/, read 12 Oct 2026
  • Card rate: not published. Not stated on postree.ie/pricing/ when read on 12 Oct 2026.

SumUp POS

Flipdish

  • Essential Package: Point of Sale & Online Ordering plan. “From **119** €/month ... Billed annually, per site. €139 if billed monthly (ex. VAT)” flipdish.com/ie/pricing, read 12 Oct 2026
  • Automatic renewal. “It then auto-renews for 12-month periods” flipdish.com/ie/docs-inner/tac-2, read 12 Oct 2026
  • Contract length. “The Agreement starts on the Effective Date and continues for 12 months, unless as otherwise stated in the Client Agreement” flipdish.com/ie/docs-inner/tac-2, read 12 Oct 2026
  • Early exit fee. “you will be liable to pay us termination compensation of the monthly average of the previous 6 months’ fees” flipdish.com/ie/docs-inner/tac-2, read 12 Oct 2026
  • Notice period, from the terms. “you notify us of termination, in writing, at least 3 months before the end of the Initial Term or any Renewal Term” flipdish.com/ie/docs-inner/tac-2, read 12 Oct 2026
  • Leaving early, from the terms. “In the event of either Termination for Cause or any circumstances where a Customer terminates other than in accordance with Section 5.1 above, you will be liable to pay us termination compensation of the monthly average of the previous 6 months’ fees (or the monthly average for however long this Agreement has been in effect if less than six months) multiplied by the number of months remaining in the Term (the “ **Unpaid Fee Commitments**”)” flipdish.com/ie/docs-inner/tac-2, read 12 Oct 2026
  • Who owns your data, from the terms. “you retain ownership of all content and data provided by you” flipdish.com/ie/docs-inner/tac-2, read 12 Oct 2026
  • Hardware terms. “In certain circumstances, we may provide a terminal to you for the duration of the Services” flipdish.com/ie/docs-inner/tac-2, read 12 Oct 2026
  • Card rate, commission on orders: not published. Not stated on flipdish.com/ie/pricing when read on 12 Oct 2026.

Toast

  • Starter plan. “| Starting at | €90/month | €170/month | Custom |” pos.toasttab.com/ie/pricing, read 12 Oct 2026
  • Essentials plan. “| Starting at | €90/month | €170/month | Custom |” pos.toasttab.com/ie/pricing, read 12 Oct 2026
  • Automatic renewal. “will automatically renew for successive one (1) year periods” pos.toasttab.com/ie/merchant-agreement, read 12 Oct 2026
  • Notice period, from the terms. “by providing at least thirty (30) days’ written notice of its intent not to renew prior to the end of the then-current Term” pos.toasttab.com/ie/merchant-agreement, read 12 Oct 2026
  • Early exit fee. “Additionally, Merchant shall incur and pay an early termination fee equal to either i) the remaining Software Subscription Fees that would have otherwise been due for the remainder of the then-current Term” pos.toasttab.com/ie/merchant-agreement, read 12 Oct 2026
  • Your data, from the terms. “Merchant acknowledges and agrees that, in the course of providing the Services to Merchant, both Toast and Merchant will collect, store and use Customer Data.” pos.toasttab.com/ie/merchant-agreement, read 12 Oct 2026
  • Card rate, commission on orders: not published. Not stated on pos.toasttab.com/ie/pricing when read on 12 Oct 2026.

Epos Now

Revolut

FirstChoice ePOS

  • Contract length. “The Customer agrees to make a minimum of 18 months SAAS Payments.” firstchoiceepos.ie/terms-conditions/, read 12 Oct 2026
  • Early exit fee. “Should the Customer wish to cancel within the initial 18 month period the remainder of monthly payments left will be consolidated and paid for in full.” firstchoiceepos.ie/terms-conditions/, read 12 Oct 2026
  • Notice period, from the terms. “The Customer can serve 30 days’ notice prior to the renewal date in which to notify FirstChoice ePOS that they do not wish to continue on Support” firstchoiceepos.ie/terms-conditions/, read 12 Oct 2026
  • Leaving early, from the terms. “Should the Customer wish to cancel within the initial 18 month period the remainder of monthly payments left will be consolidated and paid for in full.” firstchoiceepos.ie/terms-conditions/, read 12 Oct 2026
  • Plan prices, card rate, commission on orders: not published. Not stated on firstchoiceepos.ie/ when read on 12 Oct 2026.

ithPOS

  • Plan prices, card rate, commission on orders, contract terms: not published. Not stated on ithpos.com/epos.html when read on 12 Oct 2026.

Foodhub for Business

  • Automatic renewal. “the Contract shall continue to run on a rolling 12-month basis, starting on the next day following the expiration of the Initial Period.” foodhubforbusiness.com/ire/terms/, read 12 Oct 2026
  • Contract length. “The Contract shall start on the Commencement Date and shall run for an initial period of 4 months” foodhubforbusiness.com/ire/terms/, read 12 Oct 2026
  • Early exit fee. “you shall pay to the Company on demand a sum equal to the whole of the Rental Payments that would (but for the termination) have been payable if the Contract had continued from the date of such demand to the end of the Rental Period.” foodhubforbusiness.com/ire/terms/, read 12 Oct 2026
  • Leaving early, from the terms. “Upon termination of this Contract pursuant to clause 11.4, any other repudiation of this Contract by you which is accepted by the Company or pursuant to clause 11.5, without prejudice to any other rights or remedies of the Company, you shall pay to the Company on demand a sum equal to the whole of the Rental Payments that would (but for the termination) have been payable if the Contract had continued from the date of such demand to the end of the Rental Period.” foodhubforbusiness.com/ire/terms/, read 12 Oct 2026
  • Hardware terms. “the Equipment shall at all times remain the property of the Company and you shall have no right, title or interest in or to the Equipment” foodhubforbusiness.com/ire/terms/, read 12 Oct 2026
  • Plan prices, card rate, commission on orders: not published. Not stated on foodhubforbusiness.com/ire/ when read on 12 Oct 2026.