Where it ranks
- No monthly fee
- All plan prices published
- Card rate 1.4%
- Contract terms not published
Why 7.0
- No monthly fee
- All plan prices published
- Card rate 1.4%
- Contract terms not published
Why 7.0
Prices and fees
SumUp POS
Point of sale for hospitality venues from SumUp POS.
| Plan | Price |
|---|---|
| Free POS appturn your own tablet into a POS; card fee applies | Free |
| POS Litetouchscreen POS with tablet, stand and card reader; one-time hardware cost applies | Free |
| In-person card rate | 1.4% |
|---|---|
| Free plan | Yes |
| Hardware from | From $595 |
SumUp Kiosk
Self-order kiosks from SumUp POS.
“Boost efficiency with the SumUp Kiosk Increase your revenue, serve customers faster, up-sell and cross-sell, and free up your staff from order taking.”SumUp Kiosk, read 12 Oct 2026
| Plan | Price |
|---|---|
| Kiosk monthly softwareSumUp Kiosk software; the hardware bundle includes the kiosk tablet, a Solo Lite card reader and a wall or counter mount | Free |
| In-person card rate | 1.4% |
|---|---|
| Free plan | Yes |
| Hardware from | From $799 |
What SumUp POS says its products do
From 1 post on SumUp POS's own blog, read 12 Oct 2026. Each sentence is SumUp POS's claim in our words, numbered to the post it comes from. We have not used these systems.
What SumUp says about taking card payments
SumUp said its Australian launch included the Air card reader, which handles 500 transactions on one charge and connects to a phone through the SumUp app.1 SumUp said its Australian launch covered acceptance of Apple Pay, Google Pay, Mastercard, Visa and Eftpos.1 SumUp said its payment links let merchants take online payments by sharing a link that customers use to pay securely.1
Releases SumUp POS has announced
- SumUp launched in Australia in August 2023, its 36th market.1
From SumUp POS's blog
- SumUp launches in Australia - bringing affordable, game-changing tools to the market for small businesses 15 Aug 2023, read 12 Oct 2026
Contract and leaving
| Contract | Not published |
|---|
Compare SumUp POS
Ranked next to it in best POS systems for Australian hospitality
SumUp POS: questions owners ask
How much does SumUp POS cost in Australia?
SumUp POS: Free POS app is free, POS Lite is free. SumUp Kiosk: Kiosk monthly software is free.
Does SumUp POS have a free plan?
Yes: SumUp POS's Free POS app plan and SumUp Kiosk's Kiosk monthly software plan have no monthly fee.
What card fees does SumUp POS charge?
In person: 1.4%.
Does SumUp POS take commission on orders?
SumUp POS: We did not find a commission figure on its own pages. SumUp Kiosk: We did not find a commission figure on its own pages.
Is there a contract with SumUp POS?
We did not find SumUp POS's contract terms on its own pages.
How much notice do I need to give to cancel SumUp POS?
We did not find a notice period on SumUp POS's own pages.
Does SumUp POS renew automatically?
We did not find a renewal term on SumUp POS's own pages.
What does it cost to leave SumUp POS early?
We did not find an early exit fee on SumUp POS's own pages.
Who owns my customer data on SumUp POS?
We did not find a data ownership term on SumUp POS's own pages.
Do I need to buy hardware for SumUp POS?
Hardware from $595.
What does SumUp POS connect to?
We did not find an integration list on SumUp POS's own pages.
Where does SumUp POS rank?
#2 of 10 in best POS systems for Australian hospitality, 7.0/10 (as SumUp POS). #2 of 10 in best self-serve kiosks for Australian venues, 7.0/10 (as SumUp Kiosk).
What are the alternatives to SumUp POS?
Ranked next to it: Square (#1, 9.5/10), Lightspeed Restaurant (#3, 5.0/10), Eats365 (#4, 2.0/10).
Where every figure on this page comes from
SumUp POS
- Free POS app plan. “#### Free POS app #### Point of Sale Lite $ 0 Monthly cost” sumup.com/en-au/point-of-sale-overview/, read 12 Oct 2026
- POS Lite plan. “## $595 One-time hardware cost * * * ## $0 Monthly cost” sumup.com/en-au/point-of-sale-overview/, read 12 Oct 2026
- In-person card rate. “1.40% standard fee, customised rates from $20,000 card turnover per month” sumup.com/en-au/point-of-sale-overview/, read 12 Oct 2026
- Cheapest hardware. “## $595 One-time hardware cost” sumup.com/en-au/point-of-sale-overview/, read 12 Oct 2026
- Free plan. “Turn your tablet into your own free POS system.” sumup.com/en-au/point-of-sale-overview/, read 12 Oct 2026
- Commission on orders, contract terms: not published. Not stated on sumup.com/en-au/point-of-sale-overview/ when read on 12 Oct 2026.
SumUp Kiosk
- Kiosk monthly software plan. “## $0 Monthly software cost” sumup.com/en-au/sumup-kiosk/, read 12 Oct 2026
- In-person card rate. “## 1.40% Card transaction fee” sumup.com/en-au/sumup-kiosk/, read 12 Oct 2026
- Cheapest hardware. “## $799 One-time hardware cost” sumup.com/en-au/sumup-kiosk/, read 12 Oct 2026
- Free plan. “Turn your tablet into your own free POS system.” sumup.com/en-au/point-of-sale-overview/, read 12 Oct 2026
- What the vendor says it sells. “Boost efficiency with the SumUp Kiosk Increase your revenue, serve customers faster, up-sell and cross-sell, and free up your staff from order taking.” sumup.com/en-au/sumup-kiosk/, read 12 Oct 2026
- Commission on orders, contract terms: not published. Not stated on sumup.com/en-au/sumup-kiosk/ when read on 12 Oct 2026.