Home / US / Square

Square in the US: prices, fees and contract

Free POS app and card readers from Square.

Everything on this page is read from Square's own website, last on 9 Oct 2026. We have not used Square ourselves, so this page covers price and terms, not how it feels to use.

Where it ranks

  • No monthly fee
  • All plan prices published
  • Card rate 2.6% + 15¢
  • Cancel anytime

Why 9.0

  • Prices published2/2All plan prices published
  • Entry price3/3No monthly fee
  • Fees1/2Card rate 2.6% + 15¢
  • Contract3/3Cancel anytime
  • No monthly fee
  • All plan prices published
  • Cancel anytime
  • Commission not published

Why 8.0

  • Prices published2/2All plan prices published
  • Entry price3/3No monthly fee
  • Fees0/2Commission not published
  • Contract3/3Cancel anytime

Prices and fees

Square

Free POS app and card readers from Square.

Square plans
PlanPrice
Square FreePOS app for any payment, online site, item library, invoicing, booking; no monthly fee, pay only when you take a payment; KDS and Kiosk apps not availableFree
Square PlusFree plus advanced POS features for food and beverage, lower processing fees, loyalty, email and text marketing, staff management; free trial available$49 per location a month
Square PremiumPlus plus 24/7 priority phone support, advanced reporting, lowest processing fees, more text marketing, no gift card load fees; free trial available$149 per location a month
Square fees
In-person card rate2.6% + 15¢
Online card rate3.3% + 30¢
Free planYes
Hardware fromFrom $59

Square Online

Square's online ordering site.

Square Online plans
PlanPrice
Square Freebusiness essentials; website builder with SEO tools, pickup, local delivery and shipping, sell on search and socialFree
Square Plusfully loaded plan; expanded site customization, advanced item settings, QR code ordering and subscriptions$49 per location a month
Square Premiumthe best of the best with 24/7 support; real-time shipping rates, advanced reporting, 24/7 phone support$149 per location a month
Square Online fees
In-person card rate2.6% + 15¢
Online card rate3.3% + 30¢
Commission on ordersNot published
Free planYes
Hardware fromFrom $59

What Square says its products do

From 10 posts on Square's own blog, read 12 Oct 2026. Each sentence is Square's claim in our words, numbered to the post it comes from. We have not used these systems.

What Square says about its point of sale app

Square says Square for Restaurants is live in the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, Ireland, France, Spain and Australia.4 Square says its Point of Sale app combines its industry-specific commerce and payments tools in a single app.10 It says the app has seven modes, and three of them are for food and beverage.10 Square says Full Service mode adds check management, coursing and customizable floor plans.10 It says Bar mode combines pre-authorisation with conversational modifier entry to manage tabs.10

On our rate card Square: No monthly fee; card rate: 2.6% + 15¢.

What Square says about the Square Register

Square says it launched a second generation of the Square Register, its flagship countertop POS.6 It says the new Register runs up to 40% faster, with a faster processor, more memory and an upgraded Wi-Fi antenna.6 Square says the hardware is rated IP54 and has a reinforced card slot to cope with everyday spills, splashes and dust.6 It says the unified Square Point of Sale app sits at the core of the Register.6 Square says sellers use the countertop device for payments, kitchen tickets, online orders, delivery schedules and inventory.6

What Square says about Square Handheld and tableside service

Square says Square Handheld is a pocketable point of sale device for taking tableside orders and managing the floor plan.9 It says the device takes tap and dip card payments.9 Square says the device is rated IP54 against splashes and dust.9 It says Square Handheld has a barcode scanner and a 16 MP camera for updating item photos.9 Square says La Mediterranee in Berkeley uses it to place orders at each table, and its battery lasts through two service shifts.9

What Square says about Square Kiosk

Square says Square Kiosk can be fixed to a wall, a counter or a floor stand.8 It says the mounting hardware comes in the box, so installing it needs no service visit.8 Square says Square Kiosk shows visual menus and suggests add-on items based on what the customer has ordered.8 It says the kiosk connects to Square Loyalty, so diners can enrol and earn points on each order.8 Square says its enhanced Kiosk offers up to 30% faster order entry and a redesigned interface with picture-based categories and larger fonts.7

What Square says about QR code ordering and Scan to Pay

Square says its QR code ordering and Square Handheld both connect ordering with payment.5 It says guests use their own smartphones for QR code ordering.5 Square says orders from the table reach the kitchen at once when a venue uses Square for Restaurants.5 It says Square for Restaurants can also link transactions to a loyalty scheme.5

What Square says about online, phone and delivery orders

Square says its AI voice ordering picks up every incoming call, even at peak hours.7 It says confirmed phone orders go straight to the kitchen or POS, which removes double entry.7 Square says each call is logged in Square Messages with summaries, customer questions and order patterns.7 It says its Grubhub integration lets restaurants manage orders from third-party delivery apps directly in Square.7 Square says Multichannel Menu Management lets restaurants keep one menu synced across online ordering, kiosks and delivery apps.7

On our rate card Square Online: No monthly fee; commission: Not published.

What Square says about taking payments

Square says Bitcoin Payments let sellers in the United States accept bitcoin at the point of sale.7 It says Bitcoin Conversions can turn a percentage of daily sales into bitcoin automatically.7 Square says the integrated Bitcoin wallet lets sellers hold, spend or transfer bitcoin from Square Dashboard.7 It says Square Bitcoin is not available to sellers outside the United States or in New York State.7

What Square says about Square AI

Square says Square AI is a conversational assistant inside Square Dashboard that answers questions about a business.7 It says Square AI adds local weather, nearby events and industry trends to its sales summaries.7 Square says sellers can save answers as charts that update on their Dashboard by themselves.7 It says the Dashboard app gives mobile access to Square AI.7

What Square says about its MarketMan inventory integration

Square says Square Restaurant Inventory by MarketMan is an integration for ingredient and recipe management inside the Square platform.4 It says operators can automate purchase orders, manage suppliers and scan invoices, while tracking waste and loss trends.4 It says sales data from the POS syncs automatically to keep inventory, recipes and reporting accurate.4 Square says sellers log in to the inventory tool with their Square credentials.4 The company says it can forecast ingredient needs from past and live demand.4

What Square says about reservations and guest data

Square says its expanded partnership with OpenTable brings reservations, payments and guest data into one connected view.1 It says restaurants can see transaction data, reservation history and dining preferences for each guest in a unified profile.1 It says restaurants can tie each booking to what the guest spends, how often they return and their lifetime value.1 Square says its point of sale partnership with OpenTable began in 2022.1 Square says the partnership serves restaurants in the United Kingdom, the United States, Australia, Canada, Ireland and France.1

What Square says about Managerbot

Square says Managerbot is a business agent inside Square Dashboard, now in open beta.3 It says every Managerbot action needs the seller's approval before it runs.3 Square says Managerbot compares sales speed with stock levels and flags likely shortages.3 It says Managerbot drafts staff schedules from projected sales, availability and staffing needs, for the seller to approve.3 Square says the open beta covers most non-franchise food and beverage, retail and health and beauty sellers in the United States.3

What Square says about drive-thru and restaurant reporting

Square says Square for Drive-Thru joins order capture, kitchen operations and customer handoff in one workflow.2 It says orders placed at the menu board appear on a confirmation screen so guests can see them.2 Square says kitchen display routing sends orders to the right kitchen station and numbers each one automatically.2 It says the drive-thru product is in an early access program, with broader availability planned for the summer.2 Square says it is opening its Reporting API to outside developers, and a Custom Report Builder is in beta.2

Releases Square has announced

  • Square announced an expanded partnership with OpenTable in August 2026.1
  • Square unveiled Square for Drive-Thru in early access in May 2026.2
  • Square opened Managerbot to more sellers in the United States in open beta in April 2026.3
  • Square launched Square Restaurant Inventory by MarketMan worldwide in April 2026.4
  • Square released a second-generation Square Register in February 2026.6
  • Square released an enhanced Kiosk with faster order entry in October 2025.7
4 earlier releases
  • Square announced AI voice ordering and a Grubhub integration in October 2025.7
  • Square announced bitcoin payments and a wallet for businesses in October 2025.7
  • Square launched Square Handheld in May 2025.9
  • Square introduced its next-generation Point of Sale app in April 2025.10

Contract and leaving

Square contract
ContractCancel anytime
Notice to cancelCancel a Subscription Service at any time from Square Account settings; no notice period stated
Renews automaticallyYes, the contract renews automatically

Leaving early, in Square's words

“Unless otherwise provided in a Subscription Service’s terms, Subscription Fees will be charged on the first of every month until canceled. You may cancel a Subscription Service at any time from your Square Account settings. If you cancel a Subscription Service, you will continue to have access to that Subscription Service through the end of your then-current billing period, but you will not be entitled to a refund or credit for any Subscription Fee already due or paid.”squareup.com/us/en/legal/general/ua, read 9 Oct 2026

Who owns your customer data

Seller retains all rights in its Content, subject to a broad licence granted to Square.

“You retain all rights in your Content, subject to the rights you granted to us in these General Terms.”squareup.com/us/en/legal/general/ua, read 9 Oct 2026

Compare Square

Ranked next to it in best restaurant POS systems in the US

Square: questions owners ask

How much does Square cost in the US?

Square: Square Free is free, Square Plus $49 per location a month, Square Premium $149 per location a month. Square Online: Square Free is free, Square Plus $49 per location a month, Square Premium $149 per location a month.

Does Square have a free plan?

Yes: Square's Square Free plan and Square Online's Square Free plan have no monthly fee.

What card fees does Square charge?

In person: 2.6% + 15¢. Online: 3.3% + 30¢.

Does Square take commission on orders?

Square: We did not find a commission figure on its own pages. Square Online: We did not find a commission figure on its own pages.

Is there a contract with Square?

Cancel anytime.

How much notice do I need to give to cancel Square?

Cancel a Subscription Service at any time from Square Account settings; no notice period stated.

Does Square renew automatically?

Yes, the contract renews automatically.

What does it cost to leave Square early?

There is no fixed term, so there is no early exit fee.

Who owns my customer data on Square?

Seller retains all rights in its Content, subject to a broad licence granted to Square.

Do I need to buy hardware for Square?

Hardware from $59.

What does Square connect to?

We did not find an integration list on Square's own pages.

Where does Square rank?

#2 of 10 in best restaurant POS systems in the US, 9.0/10 (as Square). #1 of 5 in best online ordering systems for US restaurants, 8.0/10 (as Square Online).

What are the alternatives to Square?

Ranked next to it: SpotOn (#1, 9.0/10), Shopify POS (#3, 8.0/10), TouchBistro (#4, 5.0/10).

Is Square better than Toast?

On our score, Square has 9.0/10 and Toast 5.0/10. Square scores higher on published price and terms. The head to head compares them line by line.

Is Square better than Clover?

On our score, Square has 9.0/10 and Clover 3.0/10. Square scores higher on published price and terms. The head to head compares them line by line.

Is Square better than SpotOn?

On our score, Square has 9.0/10 and SpotOn 9.0/10. They are level. The head to head compares them line by line.

Where every figure on this page comes from

Square

  • Square Free plan. “The essentials your business needs to sell in-person, online, over the phone, or out in the field. Only pay when you take a payment. $0/mo. per location” squareup.com/us/en/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Square Plus plan. “Best value A full suite of features built specifically for food, retail, and appointment-based businesses. Designed to help you grow and thrive. $49/mo. per location” squareup.com/us/en/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Square Premium plan. “Our most advanced capabilities backed by 24/7 support. Built to streamline operations and help you scale with confidence. $149/mo. per location” squareup.com/us/en/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
  • In-person card rate. “Tap, dip, or swipe 2.6% + 15¢ Online 3.3% + 30¢” squareup.com/us/en/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Fixed fee per card payment. “Tap, dip, or swipe 2.6% + 15¢ Online 3.3% + 30¢” squareup.com/us/en/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Online card rate. “Tap, dip, or swipe 2.6% + 15¢ Online 3.3% + 30¢” squareup.com/us/en/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Fixed fee per online payment. “Tap, dip, or swipe 2.6% + 15¢ Online 3.3% + 30¢” squareup.com/us/en/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Cancelling, from the terms. “You may cancel a Subscription Service at any time from your Square Account settings.” squareup.com/us/en/legal/general/ua, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Cheapest hardware. “Get the right hardware for how you sell with options starting at $59.” squareup.com/us/en/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Notice period, from the terms. “You may cancel a Subscription Service at any time from your Square Account settings.” squareup.com/us/en/legal/general/ua, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Automatic renewal. “Unless otherwise provided in a Subscription Service’s terms, Subscription Fees will be charged on the first of every month until canceled.” squareup.com/us/en/legal/general/ua, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Leaving early, from the terms. “Unless otherwise provided in a Subscription Service’s terms, Subscription Fees will be charged on the first of every month until canceled. You may cancel a Subscription Service at any time from your Square Account settings. If you cancel a Subscription Service, you will continue to have access to that Subscription Service through the end of your then-current billing period, but you will not be entitled to a refund or credit for any Subscription Fee already due or paid.” squareup.com/us/en/legal/general/ua, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Who owns your data, from the terms. “You retain all rights in your Content, subject to the rights you granted to us in these General Terms.” squareup.com/us/en/legal/general/ua, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Your data, from the terms. “You retain all rights in your Content, subject to the rights you granted to us in these General Terms.” squareup.com/us/en/legal/general/ua, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Free plan. “With Square Free, there are no monthly subscription costs - you only pay processing fees when you take a payment.” squareup.com/us/en/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Commission on orders: not published. Not stated on squareup.com/us/en/pricing when read on 9 Oct 2026.

Square Online

  • Square Free plan. “Game-changing access to business essentials. $0/mo. per location ... Top online store features Website builder with SEO tools Pickup, local delivery, and shipping sell on search and social” squareup.com/us/en/online-store/plans, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Square Plus plan. “Fully loaded for every aspect of business. $49/mo. per location ... Top online store features Expanded site customization Advanced item settings QR code ordering and subscriptions” squareup.com/us/en/online-store/plans, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Square Premium plan. “The best of the best with 24/7 support. $149/mo. per location ... Top online store features Real-time shipping rates Advanced reporting 24/7 phone support” squareup.com/us/en/online-store/plans, read 9 Oct 2026
  • In-person card rate. “Processing fees Tap, dip, or swipe 2.6% + 15¢ Online 3.3% + 30¢” squareup.com/us/en/online-store/plans, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Fixed fee per card payment. “Processing fees Tap, dip, or swipe 2.6% + 15¢ Online 3.3% + 30¢” squareup.com/us/en/online-store/plans, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Online card rate. “Processing fees Tap, dip, or swipe 2.6% + 15¢ Online 3.3% + 30¢” squareup.com/us/en/online-store/plans, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Fixed fee per online payment. “Processing fees Tap, dip, or swipe 2.6% + 15¢ Online 3.3% + 30¢” squareup.com/us/en/online-store/plans, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Cancelling, from the terms. “You may cancel a Subscription Service at any time from your Square Account settings.” squareup.com/us/en/legal/general/ua, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Cheapest hardware. “Get the right hardware for how you sell with options starting at $59.” squareup.com/us/en/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Notice period, from the terms. “You may cancel a Subscription Service at any time from your Square Account settings.” squareup.com/us/en/legal/general/ua, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Automatic renewal. “Unless otherwise provided in a Subscription Service’s terms, Subscription Fees will be charged on the first of every month until canceled.” squareup.com/us/en/legal/general/ua, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Leaving early, from the terms. “Unless otherwise provided in a Subscription Service’s terms, Subscription Fees will be charged on the first of every month until canceled. You may cancel a Subscription Service at any time from your Square Account settings. If you cancel a Subscription Service, you will continue to have access to that Subscription Service through the end of your then-current billing period, but you will not be entitled to a refund or credit for any Subscription Fee already due or paid.” squareup.com/us/en/legal/general/ua, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Who owns your data, from the terms. “You retain all rights in your Content, subject to the rights you granted to us in these General Terms.” squareup.com/us/en/legal/general/ua, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Your data, from the terms. “You retain all rights in your Content, subject to the rights you granted to us in these General Terms.” squareup.com/us/en/legal/general/ua, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Free plan. “Game-changing access to business essentials. $0/mo. per location” squareup.com/us/en/online-store/plans, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Commission on orders: not published. Not stated on squareup.com/us/en/online-store/plans when read on 9 Oct 2026.