Home / UK / Best online ordering systems for UK restaurants and takeaways
Storekit vs Square Online
Plan prices, order fees and contracts in the UK, side by side, from each vendor's own website.
Storekit
Online ordering, QR order and pay, and kiosks for restaurants.

#3 of 8 in best online ordering systems for UK restaurants and takeaways
Read more about StorekitVisit StorekitSquare Online
Square's online ordering site.

#2 of 8 in best online ordering systems for UK restaurants and takeaways
Read more about Square OnlineVisit Square OnlineWhich one?
Choose Storekit if
- Lower commission on orders: 0%, where Square Online does not publish it
Choose Square Online if
- Publishes more of its prices
Side by side
| Line | Storekit | Square Online |
|---|---|---|
| Our score | 8.0 / 10 | 8.0 / 10 |
| Starts at | No monthly fee | No monthly fee |
| Plans | Starter: Free; Grow: £99/mo; Pro: £199/mo; Enterprise: £995/mo per brand | Free: Free; Plus: £20/mo, billed yearly; Premium: £64/mo, billed yearly |
| In-person card rate | Not published | 1.75% |
| Online card rate | Not stated | 1.4% + 25p |
| Commission on orders | 0% | Not published |
| Contract | Cancel anytime | Cancel anytime |
| Early exit fee | Not stated | Not stated |
| Hardware from | Not stated | From £19 |
| Last checked | 12 Oct 2026 | 9 Oct 2026 |
“Not published” and “Not stated” mean the vendor's own pricing and terms pages did not give the figure when we read them; the sources below name each page and date. Hover a figure to see the vendor's words.
How the scores add up
Storekit: 8.0
Square Online: 8.0
Same formula for every system. How we score
Storekit vs Square Online: questions owners ask
Which is cheaper to start, Storekit or Square Online?
Storekit: no monthly fee. Square Online: no monthly fee.
Which has the lower card rate?
Storekit: we did not find an in-person card rate on Storekit's own pages. Square Online: 1.75% in person.
What do they charge on online payments?
Storekit: we did not find an online card rate on Storekit's own pages. Square Online: 1.4% + 25p.
Do Storekit or Square Online take commission on orders?
Storekit: 0% commission. Square Online: we did not find a commission figure on Square Online's own pages.
Which has the more flexible contract?
Storekit: cancel anytime. Square Online: cancel anytime.
How much notice do they need to cancel?
Storekit: cancel at any time. Square Online: none stated: the merchant may terminate at any time from Square Account Settings.
Do their contracts renew automatically?
Storekit: we did not find a renewal term on Storekit's own pages. Square Online: we did not find a renewal term on Square Online's own pages.
What does it cost to leave early?
Storekit: no fixed term, so no exit fee. Square Online: no fixed term, so no exit fee.
Who owns my customer data?
Storekit: we did not find a data ownership term on Storekit's own pages. Square Online: we did not find a data ownership term on Square Online's own pages.
Do I need to buy hardware?
Storekit: we did not find a hardware price on Storekit's own pages. Square Online: hardware from £19.
Which publishes more of its prices?
Storekit: some prices published. Square Online: all plan prices published.
Which scores higher, Storekit or Square Online?
Storekit 8.0/10 and Square Online 8.0/10 on the same formula: prices published, entry price, fees and contract. The breakdown on this page shows where each point comes from.
Should I choose Storekit or Square Online?
Choose Storekit for: lower commission on orders: 0%, where Square Online does not publish it. Choose Square Online for: publishes more of its prices. Then check the features you need on each vendor's own site: the score covers price and terms only.
Where every figure on this page comes from
Storekit
- Starter plan. “StarterFree [Start free](https://dashboard.storekit.com/signup)” storekit.com/pricing, read 12 Oct 2026
- Grow plan. “GrowPopular£99 per month” storekit.com/pricing, read 12 Oct 2026
- Pro plan. “Pro£199 per month” storekit.com/pricing, read 12 Oct 2026
- Enterprise plan. “From £995 per brand, per month” storekit.com/pricing, read 12 Oct 2026
- Commission on orders. “| Commission on orders | 0% | 0% | 0% | 0% |” storekit.com/pricing, read 12 Oct 2026
- Contract, as the pricing page states it. “Starter, Grow and Pro are rolling monthly, cancel any time. Enterprise runs on an agreed term.” storekit.com/pricing, read 12 Oct 2026
- Free plan. “StarterFree [Start free](https://dashboard.storekit.com/signup)” storekit.com/pricing, read 12 Oct 2026
- Card rate: not published. Not stated on storekit.com/pricing when read on 12 Oct 2026.
Square Online
- Free plan. “Turn your business into an online business. # £0 No monthly fees ... Includes: - Website builder with SEO tools - Sync with Square POS and more” squareup.com/gb/en/online-store/plans, read 9 Oct 2026
- Plus plan. “Drive growth and streamline operations. # £20 /mo billed annually ... All Free plan features - Website themes” squareup.com/gb/en/online-store/plans, read 9 Oct 2026
- Premium plan. “Scale with the best rates and advanced features. # £64 /mo billed annually ... All Plus plan features - Lower processing rate” squareup.com/gb/en/online-store/plans, read 9 Oct 2026
- In-person card rate. “Take any contactless, mobile or chip and PIN payment at the counter or on the go. 1.75% for transactions with UK cards” squareup.com/gb/en/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
- Online card rate. “When a customer makes a purchase through your Online Store, Online Checkout, eCommerce API. 1.4% + 25p for transactions with UK cards” squareup.com/gb/en/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
- Fixed fee per online payment. “When a customer makes a purchase through your Online Store, Online Checkout, eCommerce API. 1.4% + 25p for transactions with UK cards” squareup.com/gb/en/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
- Contract, as the pricing page states it. “Upgrade when you want to, cancel anytime.” squareup.com/gb/en/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
- Cheapest hardware. “£19 + VAT” squareup.com/gb/en/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
- Notice period, from the terms. “You may terminate these General Terms or any Additional Terms at any time from your Square Account Settings.” squareup.com/gb/en/legal/general/ua, read 9 Oct 2026
- Free plan. “Turn your business into an online business. # £0 No monthly fees” squareup.com/gb/en/online-store/plans, read 9 Oct 2026
- Commission on orders: not published. Not stated on squareup.com/gb/en/online-store/plans when read on 9 Oct 2026.