Home / Canada / Lightspeed Restaurant

Lightspeed Restaurant in Canada: prices, fees and contract

Point of sale for restaurants from Lightspeed Restaurant.

Everything on this page is read from Lightspeed Restaurant's own website, last on 9 Oct 2026. We have not used Lightspeed Restaurant ourselves, so this page covers price and terms, not how it feels to use.

Where it ranks

#3 of 10

Best restaurant POS systems in Canada

As Lightspeed Restaurant

5.0/10
  • Plans from $89/mo
  • All plan prices published
  • Card rate 2.6% + 10¢
  • Contract: 90 days notice, renews automatically

Why 5.0

  • Prices published2/2All plan prices published
  • Entry price1/3From $89/mo
  • Fees1/2Card rate 2.6% + 10¢
  • Contract1/390 days notice, renews automatically

#7 of 10

Best online ordering systems for Canadian restaurants

As Lightspeed Order Anywhere

1.0/10
  • Contract: 90 days notice, renews automatically
  • Price on request only
  • Commission not published

Why 1.0

  • Prices published0/2Price on request only
  • Entry price0/3No plan price published
  • Fees0/2Commission not published
  • Contract1/390 days notice, renews automatically

Prices and fees

Lightspeed Restaurant

Point of sale for restaurants from Lightspeed Restaurant.

Lightspeed Restaurant plans
PlanPrice
StarterSimplify your daily operations.$89/mo
EssentialExceed guest expectations.$239/mo
PremiumConnect all of your departments.$499/mo
Lightspeed Restaurant fees
In-person card rate2.6% + 10¢

Lightspeed Order Anywhere

Online ordering for pickup and delivery from Lightspeed Restaurant.

Lightspeed Order Anywhere plans
PlanPrice
PlansNot published
Lightspeed Order Anywhere fees
In-person card rate2.6% + 10¢
Commission on ordersNot published

What Lightspeed Restaurant says its products do

From 6 posts on Lightspeed Restaurant's own blog, read 12 Oct 2026. Each sentence is Lightspeed Restaurant's claim in our words, numbered to the post it comes from. We have not used these systems.

What Lightspeed Restaurant says about its POS and kitchen screen

Lightspeed says its kitchen display lets a restaurant set up screens for each station and filter orders by where they came from.2 Lightspeed says every update made on the POS goes straight to the kitchen display, which keeps kitchen staff informed.2 Lightspeed says its KDS gives real-time order tracking and a blinking screen alert that tells staff when an order needs to move.2 Lightspeed says the Sales summary page in Lightspeed Restaurant shows the most relevant sales figures at a glance, with a Reports section for deeper detail.3 Lightspeed says its Benchmarks and Trends software compares a restaurant's performance with anonymised data from similar restaurants nearby.3

On our rate card Lightspeed Restaurant: From $89/mo; card rate: 2.6% + 10¢.

What Lightspeed Restaurant says about Order Anywhere and delivery

Lightspeed says Order Anywhere is its mobile ordering software for orders placed on and off the premises.5 Lightspeed says restaurants using Order Anywhere can switch between their own drivers and a third party's local couriers on demand.5 Lightspeed says Order Anywhere offers same-day, express and scheduled delivery and lets the restaurant keep its customer data and branding.5 Lightspeed says a restaurant cannot use its own drivers and Uber's drivers simultaneously.5 Lightspeed says Order Anywhere brings orders from every sales channel into the POS, which simplifies workflows and reporting.5 Lightspeed says takeout customers can order through a QR code or a link on the restaurant's website, with pickup either right away or booked up to seven days ahead.5

What Lightspeed says about QR code ordering

Lightspeed describes a flow where a guest scans a QR code, which opens the restaurant's online menu on their phone.4 Lightspeed says the guest then adds items to a cart, places the order and pays on their own device, and the order appears on the POS and server iPads and goes to the kitchen.4 Lightspeed says Order Anywhere lets customers order online for delivery, takeout and tableside.4 Lightspeed says Order Anywhere for K-Series and Order Ahead for L-Series let a restaurant decide when customers can order and change prep and pick-up times at peak hours.4

What Lightspeed says about paying at the table

Lightspeed describes Tableside as a complete POS and payments tool designed to help restaurants move faster.6 Lightspeed says Tableside is currently available only in the United States, to restaurants on Lightspeed Restaurant (K-Series) with Lightspeed Payments.6 Lightspeed says servers can carry Tableside in a back pocket or apron and take orders and payments wherever guests are seated.6 Lightspeed says servers can split bills and take payment at the table, and can name custom tabs so tickets come out with the guest's name.6 Lightspeed says Tableside sends orders to the kitchen instantly, and an item that runs out in the kitchen can no longer be ordered on the device.6 Lightspeed says Tableside takes tap, dip, swipe and mobile wallet payments and has a 24-hour battery.6

What Lightspeed says about Lightspeed Payments

Lightspeed describes its offer as a unified point of sale and payments platform.1 Lightspeed says that because payments are built into the POS, businesses can cut manual entry and spend less time on reconciliation.1 Lightspeed's blog quotes an owner who says guests can leave tips on the payment terminal and that tip suggestions are set in the back office.1 Lightspeed says that with POS and payment data in one place, businesses get sales reporting that simplifies their financial operations.1

Releases Lightspeed Restaurant has announced

  • Lightspeed said in May 2024 that Order Anywhere is now integrated with Uber Direct, adding on-demand courier delivery alongside a restaurant's own drivers.5

Contract and leaving

Lightspeed Restaurant contract
Contract90 days notice, renews automatically
Notice to cancelWritten notice at least 90 days before the end of the Current Term where the Current Term is more than 90 days
Renews automaticallyYes, the contract renews automatically
Early exit feeEarly Termination Fee: unpaid non-recurring fees, plus all recurring fees that would have fallen due for the rest of the Current Term, plus the difference between list price and any discounted software or hardware price
Hardware termsHardware is bought at the Order Form price; discounted or free hardware requires staying a Lightspeed customer for at least 24 months, otherwise the merchant repays the hardware plus shipping

Leaving early, in Lightspeed Restaurant's words

“Customer will be charged an early termination fee calculated as the sum of: (i) any non-recurring Fees relating to the terminated Agreement(s) which have not been paid to Lightspeed as of the effective date of termination; and (ii) any recurring Fees under the Agreement that would have otherwise become due during the remainder of the Current Term”lightspeedhq.com/legal/lightspeed-service-agreement, read 9 Oct 2026

Who owns your customer data

Merchant retains all right, title and interest in Customer Content; Lightspeed holds a broad licence to use it, including aggregate and de-identified insights.

“Customer retains all right, title, and interest in the Customer Content. Customer grants Lightspeed a worldwide, royalty-free, sublicensable, transferable, and non-exclusive license to use, access, copy, reproduce, modify, create derivative works of, publish, communicate, transmit, translate, display, and/or otherwise exploit the Customer Content for the purpose of providing, operating, promoting, or improving the Products”lightspeedhq.com/legal/lightspeed-service-agreement, read 9 Oct 2026

Compare Lightspeed Restaurant

Ranked next to it in best restaurant POS systems in Canada

Lightspeed Restaurant: questions owners ask

How much does Lightspeed Restaurant cost in Canada?

Lightspeed Restaurant: Starter $89/mo, Essential $239/mo, Premium $499/mo. Lightspeed Order Anywhere: Lightspeed Restaurant gives a price only on request.

Does Lightspeed Restaurant have a free plan?

No. We did not find a free plan on Lightspeed Restaurant's own pages.

What card fees does Lightspeed Restaurant charge?

In person: 2.6% + 10¢.

Does Lightspeed Restaurant take commission on orders?

Lightspeed Restaurant: We did not find a commission figure on its own pages. Lightspeed Order Anywhere: We did not find a commission figure on its own pages.

Is there a contract with Lightspeed Restaurant?

90 days notice, renews automatically.

How much notice do I need to give to cancel Lightspeed Restaurant?

Written notice at least 90 days before the end of the Current Term where the Current Term is more than 90 days.

Does Lightspeed Restaurant renew automatically?

Yes, the contract renews automatically.

What does it cost to leave Lightspeed Restaurant early?

Early Termination Fee: unpaid non-recurring fees, plus all recurring fees that would have fallen due for the rest of the Current Term, plus the difference between list price and any discounted software or hardware price. The clause is quoted in full on this page.

Who owns my customer data on Lightspeed Restaurant?

Merchant retains all right, title and interest in Customer Content; Lightspeed holds a broad licence to use it, including aggregate and de-identified insights.

Do I need to buy hardware for Lightspeed Restaurant?

Hardware is bought at the Order Form price; discounted or free hardware requires staying a Lightspeed customer for at least 24 months, otherwise the merchant repays the hardware plus shipping.

What does Lightspeed Restaurant connect to?

We did not find an integration list on Lightspeed Restaurant's own pages.

Where does Lightspeed Restaurant rank?

#3 of 10 in best restaurant POS systems in Canada, 5.0/10 (as Lightspeed Restaurant). #7 of 10 in best online ordering systems for Canadian restaurants, 1.0/10 (as Lightspeed Order Anywhere).

What are the alternatives to Lightspeed Restaurant?

Ranked next to it: Square (#1, 9.0/10), Shopify POS (#2, 8.0/10), Goopter (#4, 4.0/10).

Where every figure on this page comes from

Lightspeed Restaurant

  • Starter plan. “Starter Simplify your daily operations. 89 CAD /mo” lightspeedhq.com/pos/restaurant/pricing/, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Essential plan. “Essential Exceed guest expectations. 239 CAD /mo” lightspeedhq.com/pos/restaurant/pricing/, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Premium plan. “Premium Connect all of your departments. 499 CAD /mo” lightspeedhq.com/pos/restaurant/pricing/, read 9 Oct 2026
  • In-person card rate. “Integrated payments (2.6% + 10¢)” lightspeedhq.com/pos/restaurant/pricing/, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Fixed fee per card payment. “Integrated payments (2.6% + 10¢)” lightspeedhq.com/pos/restaurant/pricing/, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Automatic renewal. “this Agreement will automatically renew for a duration equal to the Initial Term” lightspeedhq.com/legal/lightspeed-service-agreement/, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Notice period, from the terms. “until terminated by Customer or Lightspeed by delivery of written notice to the other party at least (i) where the Current Term is more than ninety (90) days, ninety (90) days prior to the end of the Current Term” lightspeedhq.com/legal/lightspeed-service-agreement/, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Early exit fee. “Customer will be charged an early termination fee calculated as the sum of: (i) any non-recurring Fees relating to the terminated Agreement(s) which have not been paid to Lightspeed as of the effective date of termination; and (ii) any recurring Fees under the Agreement that would have otherwise become due during the remainder of the Current Term” lightspeedhq.com/legal/lightspeed-service-agreement/, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Leaving early, from the terms. “Customer will be charged an early termination fee calculated as the sum of: (i) any non-recurring Fees relating to the terminated Agreement(s) which have not been paid to Lightspeed as of the effective date of termination; and (ii) any recurring Fees under the Agreement that would have otherwise become due during the remainder of the Current Term” lightspeedhq.com/legal/lightspeed-service-agreement/, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Who owns your data, from the terms. “Customer retains all right, title, and interest in the Customer Content.” lightspeedhq.com/legal/lightspeed-service-agreement/, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Your data, from the terms. “Customer retains all right, title, and interest in the Customer Content. Customer grants Lightspeed a worldwide, royalty-free, sublicensable, transferable, and non-exclusive license to use, access, copy, reproduce, modify, create derivative works of, publish, communicate, transmit, translate, display, and/or otherwise exploit the Customer Content for the purpose of providing, operating, promoting, or improving the Products” lightspeedhq.com/legal/lightspeed-service-agreement/, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Hardware terms. “You agree that any discounted or free hardware requires you to remain a Lightspeed customer for at least 24 months. If you stop using your Lightspeed Product or Lightspeed Payments before then, or if you don’t start processing with Lightspeed Payments in 30 days, if applicable, you’ll need to pay us back for the hardware plus shipping costs.” lightspeedhq.com/legal/lightspeed-service-agreement/, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Commission on orders: not published. Not stated on lightspeedhq.com/pos/restaurant/pricing/ when read on 9 Oct 2026.

Lightspeed Order Anywhere

  • In-person card rate. “Integrated payments (2.6% + 10¢)” lightspeedhq.com/pos/restaurant/pricing/, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Fixed fee per card payment. “Integrated payments (2.6% + 10¢)” lightspeedhq.com/pos/restaurant/pricing/, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Automatic renewal. “this Agreement will automatically renew for a duration equal to the Initial Term” lightspeedhq.com/legal/lightspeed-service-agreement/, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Notice period, from the terms. “until terminated by Customer or Lightspeed by delivery of written notice to the other party at least (i) where the Current Term is more than ninety (90) days, ninety (90) days prior to the end of the Current Term” lightspeedhq.com/legal/lightspeed-service-agreement/, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Early exit fee. “Customer will be charged an early termination fee calculated as the sum of: (i) any non-recurring Fees relating to the terminated Agreement(s) which have not been paid to Lightspeed as of the effective date of termination; and (ii) any recurring Fees under the Agreement that would have otherwise become due during the remainder of the Current Term” lightspeedhq.com/legal/lightspeed-service-agreement/, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Leaving early, from the terms. “Customer will be charged an early termination fee calculated as the sum of: (i) any non-recurring Fees relating to the terminated Agreement(s) which have not been paid to Lightspeed as of the effective date of termination; and (ii) any recurring Fees under the Agreement that would have otherwise become due during the remainder of the Current Term” lightspeedhq.com/legal/lightspeed-service-agreement/, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Who owns your data, from the terms. “Customer retains all right, title, and interest in the Customer Content.” lightspeedhq.com/legal/lightspeed-service-agreement/, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Your data, from the terms. “Customer retains all right, title, and interest in the Customer Content. Customer grants Lightspeed a worldwide, royalty-free, sublicensable, transferable, and non-exclusive license to use, access, copy, reproduce, modify, create derivative works of, publish, communicate, transmit, translate, display, and/or otherwise exploit the Customer Content for the purpose of providing, operating, promoting, or improving the Products” lightspeedhq.com/legal/lightspeed-service-agreement/, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Hardware terms. “You agree that any discounted or free hardware requires you to remain a Lightspeed customer for at least 24 months. If you stop using your Lightspeed Product or Lightspeed Payments before then, or if you don’t start processing with Lightspeed Payments in 30 days, if applicable, you’ll need to pay us back for the hardware plus shipping costs.” lightspeedhq.com/legal/lightspeed-service-agreement/, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Plan prices, commission on orders: not published. Not stated on lightspeedhq.com/pos/restaurant/order-anywhere/ when read on 9 Oct 2026.