Home / US / Best restaurant POS systems in the US
Toast vs Clover
Plan prices, card rates and contracts in the US, side by side, from each vendor's own website.
Higher score
Toast
Restaurant POS built for food service.
5.0/10#5 of 10 in best restaurant POS systems in the US
Read more about ToastVisit ToastClover
POS hardware and software from Fiserv.

#6 of 10 in best restaurant POS systems in the US
Read more about CloverVisit CloverWhich one?
Choose Toast if
- Cheaper to start: no monthly fee, where Clover does not publish it
Choose Clover if
- Lower card rate: 2.3% + 10¢, where Toast does not publish it
Side by side
| Line | Toast | Clover |
|---|---|---|
| Our score | 5.0 / 10 | 3.0 / 10 |
| Starts at | No monthly fee | Not published |
| Plans | Starter Kit: Free; Point of Sale: $69/mo | Not stated |
| In-person card rate | Not published | 2.3% + 10¢ |
| Online card rate | Not stated | Not stated |
| Commission on orders | Not published | Not published |
| Contract | 30 days notice, renews automatically | 30 days notice |
| Early exit fee | Remaining Software Subscription Fees for the rest of the current Term, or for a Pay-as-you-go subscription 150 dollars multiplied by the months remaining; plus any Software financing processing fee | Not stated |
| Hardware from | Not stated | Not stated |
| Last checked | 9 Oct 2026 | 9 Oct 2026 |
“Not published” and “Not stated” mean the vendor's own pricing and terms pages did not give the figure when we read them; the sources below name each page and date. Hover a figure to see the vendor's words.
How the scores add up
Toast: 5.0
Clover: 3.0
Same formula for every system. How we score
Toast vs Clover: questions owners ask
Which is cheaper to start, Toast or Clover?
Toast: no monthly fee. Clover: price on request.
Which has the lower card rate?
Toast: we did not find an in-person card rate on Toast's own pages. Clover: 2.3% + 10¢ in person.
What do they charge on online payments?
Toast: we did not find an online card rate on Toast's own pages. Clover: we did not find an online card rate on Clover's own pages.
Do Toast or Clover take commission on orders?
Toast: we did not find a commission figure on Toast's own pages. Clover: we did not find a commission figure on Clover's own pages.
Which has the more flexible contract?
Toast: 30 days notice, renews automatically. Clover: 30 days notice.
How much notice do they need to cancel?
Toast: at least 30 days written notice of intent not to renew before the end of the then-current Term (either party). Clover: 30 days' notice by either party to terminate the Clover Account.
Do their contracts renew automatically?
Toast: yes, the contract renews automatically. Clover: we did not find a renewal term on Clover's own pages.
What does it cost to leave early?
Toast: remaining Software Subscription Fees for the rest of the current Term, or for a Pay-as-you-go subscription 150 dollars multiplied by the months remaining; plus any Software financing processing fee. Clover: we did not find an early exit fee on Clover's own pages.
Who owns my customer data?
Toast: merchant owns all Merchant Data, licensed to Toast. Clover: we did not find a data ownership term on Clover's own pages.
Do I need to buy hardware?
Toast: we did not find a hardware price on Toast's own pages. Clover: we did not find a hardware price on Clover's own pages.
Which publishes more of its prices?
Toast: some prices published. Clover: some prices published.
Which scores higher, Toast or Clover?
Toast 5.0/10 and Clover 3.0/10 on the same formula: prices published, entry price, fees and contract. The breakdown on this page shows where each point comes from.
Should I choose Toast or Clover?
Choose Toast for: cheaper to start: no monthly fee, where Clover does not publish it. Choose Clover for: lower card rate: 2.3% + 10¢, where Toast does not publish it. Then check the features you need on each vendor's own site: the score covers price and terms only.
Where every figure on this page comes from
Toast
- Starter Kit plan. “Starter Kit Starting at $0 /month” pos.toasttab.com/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
- Point of Sale plan. “Point Of Sale Starting at $69 /month” pos.toasttab.com/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
- Automatic renewal. “shall automatically renew for successive one (1) year periods” pos.toasttab.com/merchant-agreement, read 9 Oct 2026
- Notice period, from the terms. “either party may terminate an Order, and this Agreement with respect to such Order, by providing at least thirty (30) days’ written notice of its intent not to renew prior to the end of the then-current Term” pos.toasttab.com/merchant-agreement, read 9 Oct 2026
- Early exit fee. “an early termination fee equal to either (i) the remaining Fees for Software Subscription Fees that would have otherwise been due for the remainder of the then-current Term, or ii) for a Pay-as-you-go subscription, one-hundred and fifty dollars ($150.00) multiplied by the number of months remaining in the then-current Term, as applicable (“Early Termination Fee”)” pos.toasttab.com/merchant-agreement, read 9 Oct 2026
- Leaving early, from the terms. “Unless otherwise agreed to by Toast, Merchant acknowledges and agrees that it may terminate this Agreement at any time following the Effective Date, provided that Merchant shall remain responsible for payment of all Fees for Services provided by Toast through the effective date of termination. Additionally, Merchant shall incur and pay (a) an early termination fee equal to either (i) the remaining Fees for Software Subscription Fees that would have otherwise been due for the remainder of the then-current Term, or ii) for a Pay-as-you-go subscription, one-hundred and fifty dollars ($150.00) multiplied by the number of months remaining in the then-current Term, as applicable (“Early Termination Fee”), and (b) any applicable processing fee related to Software financing.” pos.toasttab.com/merchant-agreement, read 9 Oct 2026
- Who owns your data, from the terms. “Merchant owns all Merchant Data.” pos.toasttab.com/merchant-agreement, read 9 Oct 2026
- Your data, from the terms. “Merchant owns all Merchant Data. Merchant hereby grants to Toast a non-exclusive, royalty-free, fully paid up, and worldwide license to use, copy, modify (including the right to create derivative works of), display and transmit Merchant Data solely in connection with the Services including the development of potential offerings or other future products and services under consideration by Toast (whether developed independently by Toast or through a third party).” pos.toasttab.com/merchant-agreement, read 9 Oct 2026
- Hardware terms. “If Merchant elects to finance Hardware through a third-party lender and, either (a) fails to consummate the financing transaction with such lender, or (b) due to Merchant's default or any other purpose, Toast purchases the related credit agreement from such lender” pos.toasttab.com/merchant-agreement, read 9 Oct 2026
- Card rate, commission on orders: not published. Not stated on pos.toasttab.com/pricing when read on 9 Oct 2026.
Clover
- In-person card rate. “Pay as little as 2.3% + 10¢ per transaction” clover.com/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
- Fixed fee per card payment. “Pay as little as 2.3% + 10¢ per transaction” clover.com/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
- Notice period, from the terms. “until you or we terminate your Clover Account by giving the other 30 days’ notice” clover.com/terms, read 9 Oct 2026
- Your data, from the terms. “All data collected via the Clover website or in connection with your application for and use of the Clover Services, including customer information and information about your business, its owners, principals, and employees used with or stored in or by the Clover Services and Input (as defined below), is collected by Clover (collectively Clover Data).” clover.com/terms, read 9 Oct 2026
- Plan prices, commission on orders: not published. Not stated on clover.com/pricing when read on 9 Oct 2026.