Where it ranks
- No monthly fee
- All plan prices published
- Card rate 1.69%
- Contract: cancel at month end, after the first term
Why 7.5
- Plans from £59/mo
- All plan prices published
- Card rate 1.69%
- Contract: cancel at month end, after the first term
Why 6.5
Prices and fees
SumUp POS
Card readers and a till app from SumUp.
| Plan | Price |
|---|---|
| Pay-as-you-gotransaction fee only, no monthly fee; app with POS features, Business Account, Tap to Pay, Payment Links | Free |
| Payments Pluslower transaction fees, priority support, free card reader replacements | £19/mo |
| POS Plusadvanced hospitality and retail functionality, floor plan, accounting sync, barcode scanning | £39/mo |
| In-person card rate | 1.69% |
|---|---|
| Online card rate | 2.5% |
| Free plan | Yes |
SumUp Kiosk
SumUp POS's self-order kiosk.

“Make every shift smoother with SumUp Kiosk More orders. Shorter queues. Your team where they're needed most.”SumUp Kiosk, read 12 Oct 2026
| Plan | Price |
|---|---|
| Kiosk monthly softwareSumUp Kiosk software; the hardware bundle includes the kiosk tablet, a Solo Lite card reader and a wall or counter mount | £59/mo |
| In-person card rate | 1.69% |
|---|---|
| Online card rate | 2.5% |
| Free plan | Yes |
| Hardware from | From £499 |
What SumUp POS says its products do
From 10 posts on SumUp POS's own blog, read 12 Oct 2026. Each sentence is SumUp POS's claim in our words, numbered to the post it comes from. We have not used these systems.
What SumUp says about SumUp Terminal
SumUp says Terminal is a single POS device that combines a card reader, till software, an ordering system and a receipt printer.4 SumUp says Terminal's built-in camera can turn a photo of a handwritten or printed menu into an editable digital catalogue.4 SumUp says staff on Terminal can have their own profiles with permissions set by role, and managers get real-time sales reports.4 SumUp says UK merchants can connect Terminal to Sage Accounting, Xero or QuickBooks to simplify bookkeeping.4 SumUp says Terminal has built-in WiFi and a 4G mobile data connection, and automatically uses the strongest network.4 SumUp lists barcode scanning, table management and syncing several Terminals as upcoming features, not yet available.4
On our rate card SumUp POS: No monthly fee; card rate: 1.69%.
How SumUp handles ordering and paying at the table
SumUp says Terminal lets staff leave the counter and take orders and payments on the shop floor or at the table.4 SumUp says POS Plus adds a floor plan, so staff can assign tables or stations to team members.5 SumUp says POS Plus sends table orders straight to the kitchen printer once they are placed.5 SumUp says a restaurant can put a QR code on its menu or tables, and customers scan it, enter the amount and pay.8
What SumUp says about taking card payments
SumUp says the Solo Lite card reader connects to a smartphone by Bluetooth, for use on the go or in store.2 SumUp says Solo Lite can process more than 1000 transactions on a single charge.2 SumUp says Tap to Pay on Android turns an Android phone into a card reader with no extra hardware.9 SumUp says Tap to Pay on Android now supports PIN entry, so customers can authorise payments above the contactless limit.9 SumUp says QR code payments send customers to a secure payment link, so no card reader is needed.8 SumUp says SumUp One subscribers get payouts in their business account the next day.3
What SumUp says about SumUp Loyalty
SumUp says SumUp Loyalty gives customers automatic points or stamps whenever they pay by card.1 SumUp says the programme needs no new hardware and works with a merchant's existing SumUp setup.1 SumUp says merchants build stamp cards or points-based rewards in their existing SumUp dashboard in minutes.1 SumUp says an Autopilot feature spots lapsed customers and sends them personalised win-back offers.1 In one SumUp guide, SumUp says customers enter their mobile number at checkout and follow their progress in the SumUp Pay app.7 In its April 2026 launch release, SumUp said customers download the SumUp Local app and link a payment card once, then earn rewards automatically at participating merchants.1
What SumUp says about POS Plus
SumUp says POS Plus is a subscription tier inside SumUp POS that merchants switch on from their existing dashboard.5 SumUp says POS Plus adds PIN logins and custom staff roles, so each person only gets the permissions they need.5 SumUp says POS Plus reports cover takings by staff and shift, and which trading hours bring in the most revenue.5 SumUp says POS Plus connects with Xero, Sage and QuickBooks so sales data syncs without manual entry.5 SumUp says POS Plus comes with 24/7 priority support by call or chat.5 SumUp says the entry-level POS plan covers selling in store, inventory tracking and basic sales reports.5
What SumUp says about its app and bundle offers
SumUp says it redesigned its Android app with simpler navigation and better product organisation.10 SumUp says merchants can add, edit or remove products and categories in one place in the Android app.10 SumUp says its Android app connects with accounting programs such as QuickBooks and Xero.10 SumUp says merchants can set up product groups and bundle offers from the SumUp dashboard in a few clicks.6 SumUp says staff taking payments in the POS get the discounts and deals applied automatically.6
Releases SumUp POS has announced
- SumUp launched SumUp Loyalty in April 2026.1
- SumUp introduced the SumUp Local app for shoppers in April 2026.1
- SumUp introduced SumUp Register, a countertop POS with two screens, in April 2026.1
- SumUp launched the Solo Lite card reader in the UK in February 2026.2
- SumUp launched Terminal, an all-in-one POS device, in the UK.4
From SumUp POS's blog
- SumUp Launches Loyalty Programme to Help Small Businesses Compete for Repeat Customers 21 Apr 2026, read 12 Oct 2026
- SumUp Launches Its Simplest And Most Durable Card Reader Yet - Solo Lite Now Available In The UK 4 Feb 2026, read 12 Oct 2026
- No Transaction Fees for Payments of £10 Or Less For SumUp One Subscribers 7 Nov 2024, read 12 Oct 2026
- SumUp Launches Terminal: An All-in-One POS for Growing Businesses read 12 Oct 2026
- Introducing POS Plus | Advanced tools for smarter business operations read 12 Oct 2026
- Bundle Products & Create Custom Offers with SumUp POS read 12 Oct 2026
- Turn one-time shoppers into repeat customers with SumUp Loyalty read 12 Oct 2026
- Revolutionising contactless payments with SumUp QR codes read 12 Oct 2026
- Take payments with just your smartphone, now even better read 12 Oct 2026
- SumUp Android App Redesign: Better Payments, Faster Navigation read 12 Oct 2026
SumUp POS in pictures
From SumUp POS's own website, credited to the page each one came from.
Contract and leaving
| Contract | Cancel at month end, after the first term |
|---|---|
| Notice to cancel | Cancellation takes effect at the end of the month in which notice is given, and only after the initial subscription period has ended |
| Hardware terms | Hardware is purchased, under separate Purchase Terms |
Leaving early, in SumUp POS's words
“In case you decide to cancel the POS Services or any Associated Services before the expiry of your subscription period, you are obligated to continue to pay the Subscription Fees until the end of your subscription period, and we will not be liable for refunding the paid subscription fees or any other fees and costs, but you continue to have access to the Subscription Service through the end of your initial period.”sumup.com/en-gb/terms/point-of-sale-services, read 9 Oct 2026
Who owns your customer data
SumUp processes the personal data of the merchant's employees and customers only as a processor on the merchant's behalf under a Data Processing Agreement.
“To provide you with our services under these POS Terms, SumUp may process personal data of your employees and/or customers as a processor on your behalf as indicated in the [Data Processing Agreement (“DPA”)](https://www.sumup.com/en-gb/terms/dpa/)”sumup.com/en-gb/terms/point-of-sale-services, read 9 Oct 2026
Compare SumUp POS
Ranked next to it in best EPOS systems for UK restaurants
SumUp POS: questions owners ask
How much does SumUp POS cost in the UK?
SumUp POS: Pay-as-you-go is free, Payments Plus £19/mo, POS Plus £39/mo. SumUp Kiosk: Kiosk monthly software £59/mo.
Does SumUp POS have a free plan?
Yes: SumUp POS's Pay-as-you-go plan and SumUp Kiosk have no monthly fee.
What card fees does SumUp POS charge?
In person: 1.69%. Online: 2.5%.
Does SumUp POS take commission on orders?
SumUp POS: We did not find a commission figure on its own pages. SumUp Kiosk: We did not find a commission figure on its own pages.
Is there a contract with SumUp POS?
Cancel at month end, after the first term.
How much notice do I need to give to cancel SumUp POS?
Cancellation takes effect at the end of the month in which notice is given, and only after the initial subscription period has ended.
Does SumUp POS renew automatically?
We did not find a renewal term on SumUp POS's own pages.
What does it cost to leave SumUp POS early?
We did not find an early exit fee on SumUp POS's own pages.
Who owns my customer data on SumUp POS?
SumUp processes the personal data of the merchant's employees and customers only as a processor on the merchant's behalf under a Data Processing Agreement.
Do I need to buy hardware for SumUp POS?
Hardware is purchased, under separate Purchase Terms.
What does SumUp POS connect to?
We did not find an integration list on SumUp POS's own pages.
Where does SumUp POS rank?
#3 of 10 in best EPOS systems for UK restaurants, 7.5/10 (as SumUp POS). #3 of 10 in best self-order kiosks for UK restaurants, 6.5/10 (as SumUp Kiosk).
What are the alternatives to SumUp POS?
Ranked next to it: Square (#1, 9.5/10), PayPal POS (Zettle) (#2, 9.5/10), Epos Now (#4, 7.0/10).
Is SumUp POS better than Square?
On our score, SumUp POS has 7.5/10 and Square 9.5/10. Square scores higher on published price and terms. The head to head compares them line by line.
Where every figure on this page comes from
SumUp POS
- Pay-as-you-go plan. “### 1.69% Transaction fee £0 Our default option if your sales vary through the year and you want full flexibility with no monthly fixed cost.” sumup.com/en-gb/pricing/, read 9 Oct 2026
- Payments Plus plan. “### 0.99% Transaction fee £189/year Save 17% £19/month Cut your fees and save money if you take £3,000 or more a month.” sumup.com/en-gb/pricing/, read 9 Oct 2026
- POS Plus plan. “POS Plus ## £39 Monthly cost (excl. VAT) Advanced hospitality and retail functionality  Map and manage your floor plan  Sync with accounting systems  Enable barcode scanning” sumup.com/en-gb/pricing/, read 9 Oct 2026
- In-person card rate. “1.69% for all other in-person payments (including American Express and premium cards)” sumup.com/en-gb/pricing/, read 9 Oct 2026
- Online card rate. “2.5% for online payments (e.g. with Payment Links or Bookings)” sumup.com/en-gb/pricing/, read 9 Oct 2026
- Cancelling, from the terms. “You can cancel your subscription at any time after the expiration of your initial subscription period. The cancellation will then take effect at the end of the month in which you have given notice of cancellation.” sumup.com/en-gb/terms/point-of-sale-services/, read 9 Oct 2026
- Notice period, from the terms. “You can cancel your subscription at any time after the expiration of your initial subscription period. The cancellation will then take effect at the end of the month in which you have given notice of cancellation.” sumup.com/en-gb/terms/point-of-sale-services/, read 9 Oct 2026
- Leaving early, from the terms. “In case you decide to cancel the POS Services or any Associated Services before the expiry of your subscription period, you are obligated to continue to pay the Subscription Fees until the end of your subscription period, and we will not be liable for refunding the paid subscription fees or any other fees and costs, but you continue to have access to the Subscription Service through the end of your initial period.” sumup.com/en-gb/terms/point-of-sale-services/, read 9 Oct 2026
- Who owns your data, from the terms. “SumUp may process personal data of your employees and/or customers as a processor on your behalf as indicated in the” sumup.com/en-gb/terms/point-of-sale-services/, read 9 Oct 2026
- Your data, from the terms. “To provide you with our services under these POS Terms, SumUp may process personal data of your employees and/or customers as a processor on your behalf as indicated in the [Data Processing Agreement (“DPA”)](https://www.sumup.com/en-gb/terms/dpa/)” sumup.com/en-gb/terms/point-of-sale-services/, read 9 Oct 2026
- Hardware terms. “You acknowledge that the purchase of POS Hardware including, but not limited to tablets, registers, printers, consumer-facing displays, and card readers is subject to the terms and conditions specified in the applicable” sumup.com/en-gb/terms/point-of-sale-services/, read 9 Oct 2026
- Free plan. “No, with our default pay-as-you-go option, there’s no monthly fee.” sumup.com/en-gb/pricing/, read 9 Oct 2026
- Commission on orders: not published. Not stated on sumup.com/en-gb/pricing/ when read on 9 Oct 2026.
SumUp Kiosk
- Kiosk monthly software plan. “£59 Monthly software cost” sumup.com/en-gb/sumup-kiosk/, read 12 Oct 2026
- In-person card rate. “1.69% for all other in-person payments (including American Express and premium cards)” sumup.com/en-gb/pricing/, read 9 Oct 2026
- Online card rate. “2.5% for online payments (e.g. with Payment Links or Bookings)” sumup.com/en-gb/pricing/, read 9 Oct 2026
- Cancelling, from the terms. “You can cancel your subscription at any time after the expiration of your initial subscription period. The cancellation will then take effect at the end of the month in which you have given notice of cancellation.” sumup.com/en-gb/terms/point-of-sale-services/, read 9 Oct 2026
- Cheapest hardware. “£499 One-time hardware cost” sumup.com/en-gb/sumup-kiosk/, read 12 Oct 2026
- Notice period, from the terms. “You can cancel your subscription at any time after the expiration of your initial subscription period. The cancellation will then take effect at the end of the month in which you have given notice of cancellation.” sumup.com/en-gb/terms/point-of-sale-services/, read 9 Oct 2026
- Leaving early, from the terms. “In case you decide to cancel the POS Services or any Associated Services before the expiry of your subscription period, you are obligated to continue to pay the Subscription Fees until the end of your subscription period, and we will not be liable for refunding the paid subscription fees or any other fees and costs, but you continue to have access to the Subscription Service through the end of your initial period.” sumup.com/en-gb/terms/point-of-sale-services/, read 9 Oct 2026
- Who owns your data, from the terms. “SumUp may process personal data of your employees and/or customers as a processor on your behalf as indicated in the” sumup.com/en-gb/terms/point-of-sale-services/, read 9 Oct 2026
- Your data, from the terms. “To provide you with our services under these POS Terms, SumUp may process personal data of your employees and/or customers as a processor on your behalf as indicated in the [Data Processing Agreement (“DPA”)](https://www.sumup.com/en-gb/terms/dpa/)” sumup.com/en-gb/terms/point-of-sale-services/, read 9 Oct 2026
- Hardware terms. “You acknowledge that the purchase of POS Hardware including, but not limited to tablets, registers, printers, consumer-facing displays, and card readers is subject to the terms and conditions specified in the applicable” sumup.com/en-gb/terms/point-of-sale-services/, read 9 Oct 2026
- Free plan. “No, with our default pay-as-you-go option, there’s no monthly fee.” sumup.com/en-gb/pricing/, read 9 Oct 2026
- What the vendor says it sells. “Make every shift smoother with SumUp Kiosk More orders. Shorter queues. Your team where they're needed most.” sumup.com/en-gb/sumup-kiosk/, read 12 Oct 2026
- Commission on orders: not published. Not stated on sumup.com/en-gb/sumup-kiosk/ when read on 12 Oct 2026.




